Best Rowing Machines for Home
On this page, "best" means the machine that fits a stated need on five checkable criteria, not a winner. Hydrow suits coached on-water video with a paid membership. Ergatta suits game-style workouts where membership is optional. Bowflex Revolution suits strength plus a rowing conversion. Concept2 at $990 is simpler and cheaper.
Floor space, drawn to scale
Each rectangle is the maker’s stated assembled length and width, in inches, drawn at one scale. Ergatta is left out because the pages read do not state its length and width. The Bowflex Revolution is a strength home gym, shown here for comparison. In-use footprints and clearance around a machine are larger.
Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.
MudderElla is an informational guide, and this page is its hub for rowing. Every price, size and warranty line below was read from the maker's own page on 2026-11-02, and the page says which rows could not be confirmed. The site did not test any machine. Where this page repeats a reviewer's view, it names the outlet and the date that outlet's page shows.
How "best" is defined here
Most roundups hand out a winner and leave the reader to guess what the winner was judged on. This page does the opposite. It lists five criteria, says why each matters, and says where each number comes from. A machine can be strong on one and weak on another, and the roles further down follow from that.
- Three-year cost including membership. A rower's sticker price is only part of what it costs. Hydrow says membership is part of the purchase, and Ergatta sells optional plans, so the page adds the machine price to 36 months of membership. The arithmetic is shown in the cost table and it leaves out shipping, tax and accessories.
- What works without a membership. If you stop paying, does the machine still row? Each maker states this on its own pages, and the page quotes that statement rather than a reviewer's summary of it.
- Resistance type and noise, as stated. Water, air and electromagnetic (magnetic) resistance feel and sound different. Makers describe noise in adjectives and rarely give a decibel figure, so this page reports the adjective, says who wrote it, and says plainly when there is no figure.
- Footprint and storage. A rower is long. The page prints the maker's assembled length and width and what the maker says about storing it upright or folded.
- Warranty and return window, as stated. These are copied from the maker's warranty and returns pages. Where two pages from one maker disagree, both statements are printed.
Each machine gets a cell for each criterion marked STATED (the maker's page says it), NOT STATED (the page read does not say), MIXED (two sources disagree) or CAN'T BE CHECKED (the page could not be read in full). That vocabulary is used on every review on the site.
The three roles
The three machines with a partner on this site are Hydrow, Ergatta and the Bowflex Revolution. They are given roles by the criteria above. A role is not a ranking, and each card says who the machine is wrong for.
Hydrow: coached on-water video, with a paid membership
Hydrow's own FAQ says its membership "should not be considered an optional part of purchasing." Without it the rower runs in Just Row mode, which Hydrow describes as very limited functionality. The lineup read on 2026-11-02 is Origin, Wave and Arc. If you want an instructor on screen and rowing footage from real waterways, and you accept a monthly fee as part of the price, this is the role Hydrow fills.
Wrong for: anyone who wants a rower that works fully with no recurring payment, anyone who wants to stay near the price of a plain rower, and anyone who needs a published user weight limit, since the Hydrow pages read did not state one. Read the full Hydrow review before buying.
Ergatta: game-style workouts on a water rower, membership optional
Ergatta's FAQ says a membership is not required to use the rower. Without one, its page says you keep Just Row mode, real-time metrics, app connections such as Strava and Apple Health, and music. The workouts that make Ergatta distinctive are timed games and races, and those are part of the paid plans. The rower is now called the Ergatta Luxe, and its warranty page names WaterRower as the manufacturer. If you want a water-resistance machine in a wood frame and want to decide on membership later, this is the role Ergatta fills.
Wrong for: anyone who wants an instructor talking through the session, anyone who wants a published noise figure (none was found on the pages read), and anyone who wants to spend near $1,000 rather than near $2,200. See the Ergatta review.
Bowflex Revolution: strength plus a rowing conversion
The Bowflex Revolution is a strength home gym. Bowflex's page lists one rowing statement, a bullet reading "Converts to a rowing machine." It is not a dedicated rower, and no rowing seat or add-on is listed or priced on bowflex.com. If you want one machine for strength work and want occasional rowing included, this is the role it fills, with the page's own limits stated on its review.
Wrong for: anyone whose main goal is rowing, anyone who will row several times a week and wants a rowing-specific seat, rail and monitor, and anyone short on floor space, since Bowflex's page gives 97 x 37.5 x 72 inches assembled. See the Bowflex Revolution review.
Comparison table
Prices are the figures each maker's page showed on 2026-11-02, one per machine. Where a page showed two, both are given. Concept2 is a plain-text row because it is the comparison anchor on this site and is not promoted.
| Machine | Price shown | Membership | Resistance | Assembled size (maker) | Warranty (maker's pages) | Return (maker's pages) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrow Wave | $1,995 MSRP | $50 a month, not optional per Hydrow | Electromagnetic drag (Hydrow's description) | 80 x 19 in, 102 lb | Page headline "Free 1-year warranty"; support article lists frame 5 years, components 12 months | 30-day home trial; $250 return shipping fee if trial-ineligible |
| Hydrow Origin | $1,895 shown, $2,195 MSRP in the FAQ | $50 a month | Not read as a separate statement | 86 x 25 in, 145 lb | Same as Wave | Same as Wave |
| Hydrow Arc | $2,295 MSRP | $50 a month | Not read as a separate statement | 86 x 25 in, 147 lb | Same as Wave | Same as Wave |
| Ergatta Luxe | $2,199 shown, $2,499 also shown | Optional: 1 year $390, 3 years $1,044 | Water | Length and width not stated on the page read; "folds and stores" | Page headline "5 year warranty"; warranty page lists screen 1 year, parts 3 years, frame 5 years | 30-day risk-free trial |
| Bowflex Revolution | $2,199 shown, $2,999 also shown | None; Bowflex says it needs no subscription | SpiraFlex, 220 lb upgradable to 300 lb | 97 x 37.5 x 72 in, 336.2 lb | 10 years machine, 10 years SpiraFlex packs, 90 days labor | 30 days, minus shipping and handling |
| Concept2 RowErg (plain text) | $990 standard legs, $1,155 tall legs | None; free ErgData app | Flywheel | 96 x 24 in, 57 lb | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read |
The Bowflex row describes a strength machine. Its resistance figure is the strength resistance of the SpiraFlex plates, which is not comparable to a rower's drag setting, and Bowflex's page says those figures are estimates that can change as the elastic resistance wears.
Scorecard against the five criteria
| Machine | 1. Three-year cost | 2. Works without membership | 3. Resistance and noise | 4. Footprint and storage | 5. Warranty and return |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrow (Wave, Origin, Arc) | STATED | STATED (limited) | MIXED (resistance stated; noise is a maker adjective, no figure) | STATED | MIXED (two warranty statements) |
| Ergatta Luxe | STATED (membership plans derived) | STATED | MIXED (resistance stated; noise not stated by Ergatta, outlets disagree) | MIXED (storage stated, length and width not) | MIXED (two warranty statements) |
| Bowflex Revolution | STATED | STATED (no subscription) | NOT STATED for rowing; no rowing noise or rowing resistance figure | STATED | STATED |
| Concept2 RowErg | STATED | STATED (no membership named) | MIXED (flywheel stated, no noise figure) | STATED | CAN'T BE CHECKED |
Three-year cost
Three-year cost is the machine price plus 36 months of membership. Shipping, tax and accessories are not included. The figures below come from the site's derived data file, read 2026-11-02.
| Machine | Price | Membership per month | Three-year cost with membership |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrow Wave | $1,995 | $50 | $3,795 |
| Hydrow Origin | $1,895 | $50 | $3,695 |
| Hydrow Arc | $2,295 | $50 | $4,095 |
| Ergatta Luxe | $2,199 | $39 | $3,603 |
| Concept2 RowErg | $990 | $0 | $990 |
Some notes on how to read the table:
- Ergatta's membership is optional. Ergatta says a membership is not required. Without it the Luxe costs $2,199 and runs in Just Row mode only. With the 3-year plan at $1,044 the total is $3,243. With the monthly plan at about $39 for 36 months the total is $3,603. The $39 monthly figure is arithmetic from the 3-year plan's listed $1,404, divided by 36, and Ergatta's page lists plans, not a monthly price. Ergatta also lists a 5-year plan at $27 a month, which works out to about $1,620.
- Hydrow's membership is $50 a month, which is $600 a year and $1,800 over 36 months, for the whole household.
- Hydrow Origin is shown at $1,895 on Hydrow's Wave page, with $2,195 struck through, and listed at $2,195 MSRP in the FAQ. The table uses the figure shown, as the page does.
- Bowflex Revolution is not in the table because it has no membership and is a different kind of machine. Its price is $2,199 as shown, and the page also shows $2,999. Bowflex's page says it needs no subscription.
- Hydrow Wave minus Ergatta Luxe on three-year cost with monthly plans is $192. Hydrow Wave's price minus Concept2 RowErg's is $1,005, and Ergatta Luxe's price minus Concept2 RowErg's is $1,209.
The RowErg is far cheaper over three years, and the page says so plainly. What you give up is what the membership machines add: on-screen coaching, game-style workouts, or a built-in display of that kind. A Concept2 does have a monitor, the PM5, and a free app, and it works without any plan.
Per-machine summaries
Hydrow
Hydrow sells three rowers, Origin, Wave and Arc. The lineup page read on 2026-11-02 shows no model called Pro, although some outlets reviewed a "Hydrow Pro." Hydrow lists Wave at $1,995 MSRP, Origin at $2,195 MSRP in the FAQ and $1,895 as shown on the Wave page, and Arc at $2,295 MSRP. The Wave is the smallest at 80 x 19 inches and 102 lb. Origin and Arc are 86 x 25 inches and 145 and 147 lb. Membership is $50 a month. Hydrow's page calls the Wave's electromagnetic drag "whisper-quiet," which is a maker claim with no figure.
Hydrow's warranty has two statements. The Wave page says "Free 1-year warranty," while a support article lists a five-year structural frame warranty and 12 months on components, screen and electronics. If a direct purchase is not eligible for the trial, Hydrow's return article lists a $250 return shipping fee. Suits: a reader who wants coached video and accepts the membership. Wrong for: a reader who wants to avoid recurring costs. Read the Hydrow review.
Ergatta
The Ergatta Luxe is shown at $2,199, with $2,499 also on the page. It uses water resistance and a 21 in touchscreen, weighs 106.5 lb with water, and per Ergatta supports users up to 6 ft 8 in or 40 in inseam and 500 lb. Ergatta says it "folds and stores with no additional equipment." Its warranty has two statements: the headline says "5 year warranty," while the warranty page lists screen 1 year, parts 3 years and the wooden frame 5 years. Suits: a reader who wants game-style workouts and an optional membership. Wrong for: a reader who wants spoken coaching or a noise figure. Read the Ergatta review.
Bowflex Revolution
The Revolution is a strength home gym, $2,199 as shown with $2,999 also shown. Bowflex's page says it has 100 exercises with 400+ variations, SpiraFlex resistance of 220 lb upgradable to 300 lb, a 10-year machine warranty and a 30-day return window. Its only rowing statement is the one bullet quoted above. Suits: a reader who wants strength first and a rowing conversion second. Wrong for: a reader who wants a dedicated rower. Read the Bowflex Revolution review.
Concept2 RowErg
The RowErg is $990 with standard legs and $1,155 with tall legs. Concept2's page gives 96 x 24 inches, 57 lb on standard legs, a PM5 monitor, a flywheel, and a free ErgData app. It states a user weight of 500 lb as tested by Concept2 and 300 lb as tested to the European standard EN 20957-7. Outlets describe it as louder than the water and magnetic machines, and Concept2's page states no noise figure. Read the Concept2 RowErg review.
Pick by situation
These are starting points, not verdicts. Each links the guide that goes deeper.
- Small space. Hydrow's Wave is the smallest of its three at 80 x 19 inches, and Hydrow sells a $190 Vertical Anchor for upright storage of the Wave. Concept2's page says the RowErg separates into two parts without tools. The small-space rowing guide compares footprints in one table. The foldable rowing machines guide separates rowers that fold from rowers that only store upright.
- A quiet apartment. Makers use adjectives, not figures. Hydrow says whisper-quiet, WaterRower's page for its Original says it "operates quietly with only the sound of moving water," and Concept2 states nothing. Outlets disagree, and the water rowing machines guide and magnetic rowing machines guide set the statements side by side.
- A first rower. Price, assembly and whether you will use a screen matter most. Start with the beginner rowing machine guide and the how to choose a rowing machine page.
- A tighter budget. The RowErg at $990 and the WaterRower Original from $1,199 as its page shows both cost far less than the membership machines, and the budget rowing machines guide says what the lower price leaves out.
- A weight-loss goal. The rowing machine for weight loss page uses only named health sources and says what they do not claim. The rowing machine benefits page covers muscles worked.
- Strength plus rowing. The Bowflex Revolution is the one machine here built around strength training. The Bowflex home gyms compared page and the home gym hub, best home gym, put it beside other all-in-one machines.
Air, water and magnetic resistance
An air rower such as the Concept2 uses a flywheel and pulls air against it, so effort and resistance rise together, and outlets describe it as louder as you row harder. A water rower such as the Ergatta moves a tank of water and outlets disagree on how loud it is. A magnetic rower such as the Hydrow Wave, whose drag Hydrow describes as electromagnetic, is the type its maker calls whisper-quiet. The air vs magnetic vs water comparison explains each type in more detail.
Comparisons and deeper reads
If you have already narrowed to two machines, these pages compare them directly.
- Hydrow vs Ergatta: coached video against game-style workouts, and a paid membership against an optional one.
- Hydrow vs Concept2: the $50 monthly membership and the on-screen coaching set against a plain $990 rower.
- Ergatta vs Concept2: a water rower and an air rower.
- Hydrow vs Peloton Row: two connected rowers. Peloton's pages could not be read in full, so that page leaves its figures out.
For the rowing itself, the how to use a rowing machine page covers the stroke, and rowing machine workouts gives simple beginner plans with a clinician-first note. For choosing between machine types, see rowing machine vs treadmill and rowing machine vs exercise bike.
Other kinds of home cardio
A rower is one of several choices, and the other hubs cover them. Strength machines are covered at best home gym, walking and running at best treadmill for home, and low-impact cycling at best exercise bike for home. If you are not sure which machine type fits, a page that starts from your goals instead, best cardio machines for home, can help.
FAQ
Which rowing machine should I pick for home use?
That depends on the criteria. On three-year cost with membership, the Concept2 RowErg at $990 is far lower than the Hydrow, Ergatta or Bowflex options on this page. For coached on-water video with a paid membership, the Hydrow role fits. For game-style workouts with an optional membership, the Ergatta role fits. For strength plus a rowing conversion, the Bowflex Revolution role fits.
Do I have to pay a membership for a Hydrow?
Hydrow's FAQ says membership "should not be considered an optional part of purchasing." Without it the rower runs in Just Row mode, which Hydrow lists as adjusting drag, seeing on-screen metrics and following Hydrow 101 tutorials, with no workout videos, music, saved stats or leaderboard. Hydrow's membership is $50 a month for the household.
Does an Ergatta work without a membership?
Ergatta's FAQ says a membership is not required. Its page lists Just Row mode, real-time metrics, apps such as Strava and Apple Health, and music as working without one. Ergatta's paid plans add the game-style workouts, so a reader who wants those should price them in.
Is the Bowflex Revolution a rowing machine?
Not a dedicated one. Bowflex's page lists one bullet, "Converts to a rowing machine," and no rowing seat or add-on is listed or priced on bowflex.com. It is a strength machine first.
Which rowing machine is the quietest?
No maker gave a decibel figure on the pages read. Hydrow calls its Wave whisper-quiet, WaterRower says its Original operates quietly, and outlets disagree about both water and air machines. The only fair answer is that noise is not yet comparable across makers.