Hydrow Rowing Machine Review

Hydrow makes coached on-water video rowers, and its pages read on 2026-11-02 list the Origin, Wave and Arc. Hydrow says the $50 monthly membership is part of the purchase. Over three years the Wave comes to $3,795, the Origin $3,695 and the Arc $4,095, before shipping and tax.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

This review sits inside the hub page, best rowing machines for home, and uses the same five criteria: three-year cost, what works without a membership, resistance and noise, footprint, and warranty and return. MudderElla did not test the rower. Everything below is what Hydrow states on its own pages, read on 2026-11-02, or what a named outlet reports on a page dated as shown.

A note on the lineup

This page covers the three rowers Hydrow lists on its pages read on 2026-11-02: Origin, Wave and Arc. None is called Pro. Some outlets reviewed a "Hydrow Pro", and InsideHook did so on a page dated 2025-06-26, whose price and membership figures predate the pages read here. The status of a model called Pro could not be confirmed from Hydrow's current pages, so it is not covered. Hydrow also sells a strength platform called LYQUID, which is not a rower and is not covered here.

Facts at a glance

Prices are the figures Hydrow's pages showed on 2026-11-02, read as page text in a browser. Hydrow says its prices "may change with sales and promotions."

FactWaveOriginArc
Price shown$1,995 MSRP$1,895 shown on the Wave page; $2,195 MSRP in the FAQ$2,295 MSRP
Membership$50 a month, whole household$50 a month$50 a month
Three-year cost with membership$3,795$3,695$4,095
Assembled size80 x 19 in86 x 25 in86 x 25 in
Weight102 lb145 lb147 lb
Seat height14 in16 in16 in
Floor to top of screen43 in47 in48 in
Boxed size and weight51 x 20 x 19 in, 128 lb91 x 18 x 33 in, 197 lb91 x 18 x 33 in, 200 lb
Resistance"Patented electromagnetic drag mechanism" (Hydrow's words)Not read as a separate statementNot read as a separate statement
User weight limitNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read
Upright storageVertical Anchor, $190Upright Storage Kit, $80Upright Storage Kit, $80

The three-year costs use the shown price plus 36 months at $50, which is $1,800, and do not include shipping, tax or accessories. Membership works out to $600 a year. Where Hydrow's pages show two prices for the Origin, this page prints both and uses the shown one in the cost arithmetic. Hydrow's Wave page also lists "or as low as $42/mo" through Klarna as a financing example; that is a financing figure, not a price.

What Hydrow says the rower is

Hydrow's Wave page describes its drag as electromagnetic and "whisper-quiet." That is Hydrow's own claim, and the pages read give no decibel figure. The page also describes its content library in Hydrow's words: "6,000+ workouts," "100 Places" and "115+ Badges." These counts come from the maker and were not checked.

Hydrow's Wave page shows several badges, such as "Best Smart Rowing Machine of 2026," and names no outlet for any of them. Because the page does not say who gave them, this review does not repeat them as fact. They are noted only as something Hydrow displays.

Every Hydrow rower, per the Wave page, comes with a free 30-day home trial, a warranty described as "Free 1-year warranty," eligibility for HSA and FSA spending, and free shipping that Hydrow values at $200.

Membership and what works without it

Hydrow is direct about the membership. Its FAQ says: "Membership is an integral part of the Hydrow experience and should not be considered an optional part of purchasing." The monthly price is $50 for the whole household, plus applicable taxes.

Without the membership the rower runs in what Hydrow calls Just Row mode, with "very limited functionality." Per Hydrow's FAQ, you can still:

  • adjust the drag,
  • see on-screen metrics,
  • follow Hydrow 101 tutorials, and
  • connect a Bluetooth heart-rate monitor during workouts.

Hydrow's FAQ lists what you cannot do without it: no workout videos, no music, no stored progress, no saved stats, no weekly racing, no leaderboard and no mobile streaming. In practice that means the screen shows your numbers and little else. If you intend to row without paying the fee for long stretches, the machine is a poor value at this price.

Hydrow's return article adds that membership refunds are available only within 30 days of purchase and are not pro-rated.

Warranty: two statements

Hydrow's pages give two different warranty descriptions, and both are printed here.

  1. The Wave page headline says "Free 1-year warranty."
  2. Hydrow's home-use warranty article lists, for any model: structural frame five years, components, screen and other electronics twelve months, and labor twelve months. It counts the handle, strap, seat assembly and screen-carriage hinge as components. Extended warranty and accidental damage protection are sold on hydrow.com only.

The two do not conflict if the headline refers to the electronics and the article describes the whole rower, but Hydrow's pages do not say that, so the review does not assume it. Anyone buying should read the warranty article in full.

Return policy and trial

Hydrow's pages describe a 30-day home trial on its rowers. The terms of that trial sit in a separate Hydrow support article that was not read for this review, so they are not summarized here.

For direct purchases that are not eligible for the trial, Hydrow's return policy article says to return within 30 days of delivery, with no refund of shipping or installation and a $250 return shipping fee deducted. Authorized retailers follow their own policies. If you are buying from a retailer rather than from Hydrow, read that retailer's policy first.

Scorecard

CriterionCellWhat the page says
1. Three-year cost with membershipSTATEDPrices and the $50 monthly fee are on Hydrow's pages; the totals are arithmetic
2. Works without a membershipSTATEDJust Row mode only, "very limited functionality"
3. Resistance and noiseMIXEDResistance is described by Hydrow; noise is an adjective with no figure, and outlets differ
4. Footprint and storageSTATEDSizes, weights and upright storage accessories are listed
5. Warranty and return windowMIXEDTwo warranty statements; return terms differ by purchase route
User weight limitNOT STATEDNot found on the pages read
Screen size and resistance levelsCAN'T BE CHECKEDNot found on the pages read

Who it is wrong for

A Hydrow is the wrong choice for a few readers, and it is better to say so before the purchase.

  • Anyone who wants no recurring payment. Hydrow says membership is part of buying. A rower that works fully without a plan, such as a Concept2 at $990, is a simpler fit. See the Concept2 RowErg review.
  • Anyone who wants game-style workouts rather than instructors. That is the role Ergatta fills, and its membership is optional per Ergatta. See the Ergatta review.
  • Anyone whose main goal is strength training. The Bowflex Revolution is a strength home gym, not a dedicated rower, and its review explains what its page says about rowing. See the Bowflex Revolution review.
  • Anyone who needs a published user weight limit, since none was found on the pages read.
  • Anyone short on floor space. The smallest Hydrow, the Wave, is 80 x 19 inches assembled, and the other two are 86 x 25 inches.

What outlets report

Outlets are named with the date their page shows. The site did not test the rower, and the summaries below come from reading each page; they could not be checked against a second source.

  • InsideHook (page dated 2025-06-26) reviewed a "Hydrow Pro." Its reviewer writes of testing the larger model for the last few weeks, calls it very quiet, praises the instructors, and says the subscription is a large long-term cost.
  • Garage Gym Reviews (rower review updated 2026-03-11) recommends it for buyers who want motivation and accept the price, and calls the programming engaging. It notes the price and the monthly subscription as the drawbacks.
  • Garage Gym Reviews (Wave review updated 2025-03-28) says the Wave is smaller and cheaper than the original and suits most home gyms, and that the monthly subscription decides it. The page's own text is internally inconsistent about whether the writer tried the machine.
  • Reviewed (Wave review updated 2023-09-08) calls it a new favorite and beginner-friendly, and reports that it was occasionally noisy.

Where outlets disagree:

  • Noise. Hydrow calls the Wave whisper-quiet. InsideHook says "super quiet." Reviewed's Wave review reports it as quiet most of the time but with an occasional loud snapping noise, which Hydrow's support team called an anomaly. Garage Gym Reviews' Wave page does not mention noise. No outlet gave a decibel figure that could be confirmed.
  • Membership price. The outlets above quote different monthly membership prices because their pages are from different dates. Hydrow's own FAQ, read 2026-11-02, says $50 a month, so this page uses that figure and no older one.
  • Machine price. Outlets quote different machine prices for the same reason. This page uses Hydrow's own figures.
  • Just Row without membership. Garage Gym Reviews describes a manual mode with limited functionality. InsideHook says it is possible but discouraged by Hydrow. Both fit what Hydrow's FAQ lists.

Several other outlet pages, including Live Science, Fit&Well and TechRadar, did not load past a title or a search snippet, so they are not cited.

Versus the alternatives

The Hydrow vs Ergatta page sets coached video against game-style workouts and a required membership against an optional one. The Hydrow vs Concept2 page compares the Hydrow with the $990 RowErg. The Hydrow vs Peloton Row page compares two connected rowers. If you have not yet narrowed the field, the how to choose a rowing machine page starts from your space, noise tolerance and coaching preference. The water rowing machines guide covers the type Hydrow is not, and the rowing machine for weight loss page says what named health sources do and do not claim about rowing and weight.

FAQ

How much does a Hydrow cost?

Hydrow's pages, read on 2026-11-02, show the Wave at $1,995 MSRP, the Arc at $2,295 MSRP, and the Origin at $1,895 on the Wave page, with $2,195 MSRP in the FAQ. Membership is $50 a month. Hydrow says prices may change with sales and promotions.

Does a Hydrow work without a membership?

Only in a limited way. Hydrow's FAQ says membership should not be considered optional, and without it the rower runs in Just Row mode with very limited functionality: drag, on-screen metrics, tutorials and Bluetooth heart rate. Videos, music, saved stats and leaderboards are not available.

What is the Hydrow warranty?

Hydrow's pages give two statements. The Wave page says "Free 1-year warranty," while Hydrow's support article lists five years on the structural frame and twelve months on components, electronics and labor. Both are printed here because the pages do not reconcile them.

Can I return a Hydrow?

Hydrow offers a 30-day home trial, whose terms are in a separate article not read for this review. For direct purchases that are not trial-eligible, Hydrow's return policy lists a 30-day window, no refund of shipping or installation, and a $250 return shipping fee.

Is there a Hydrow Pro?

The Hydrow pages read on 2026-11-02 list the Origin, Wave and Arc and do not list a Pro. Some outlets reviewed a "Hydrow Pro" in earlier years. Whether that model was renamed or discontinued could not be confirmed from Hydrow's current pages.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published. Prices, sizes, membership, warranty and return terms were read from Hydrow's pages on this date, and outlet pages were read on the same date.

Sources