Best Exercise Bikes for Home

Seven exercise bikes are compared on five checkable points: price, type and fit, resistance and noise as stated, weight limit and footprint, and warranty. Every figure comes from the maker's page, read on 2026-11-02. No bike page gives a decibel figure, so noise is the makers' adjectives only. MudderElla tested none of them.

The five criteria used on this page

"Best" here means how a bike measures against five points a buyer can check before paying. It is not a winner claim.

  1. Price. What the maker's page showed on 2026-11-02. Several pages showed shipping offers that end soon; the offers are not printed, only the price shown that day.
  2. Type and fit. Upright and indoor cycling bikes put you over the pedals with handlebars in front. Recumbent bikes seat you in a reclined seat with a backrest. Folding bikes collapse for storage. Fit is the seat and handlebar adjustment range and any height or inseam the maker states.
  3. Resistance and noise as stated. Resistance type (magnetic, outer brake, or unspecified) and number of levels as the page words them, plus noise as the maker's own adjective. No bike page gave a decibel figure.
  4. Weight limit and footprint. The maximum user weight and the assembled length and width. Footprint decides whether the bike fits a room; weight limit decides whether it fits a rider.
  5. Warranty. The terms by part, because "3 years" can mean the frame only.

The seven bikes at a glance (read 2026-11-02)

BikeTypePrice shownResistance as the page words itSeat and fit as stated
Schwinn IC4Upright indoor cycle$899.00 (also shows $999.00 as regular)100 magnetic levelsAdjustable race-style seat; 4-way handlebars; user height 5'1" to 6'4" or inseam 29 to 39 inches
Sunny SF-B1805SMARTUpright indoor cycle$699.99Magnetic; "micro-adjustable" and 16 levels both stated4-way adjustable seat and handlebars; inseam 29.9 to 40 inches
Sole R92Recumbent$1,299.9920 levels, ECB magneticMesh seat, 15 positions
Schwinn 230Recumbent$599.0016 magnetic levels, 13 programsSeat rail slider with easy-adjust lever; stationary handlebars
XTERRA FB180Folding upright$179.99 (also shows $249.99)8 levels, "magnetic" and "outer brake" both statedUp/down seat; user height 4'10" to 5'10"
Marcy NS-652Folding upright$169.99 (page showed it unavailable)8 preset levels, type not statedSeat height knob; inseam 28 to 33 inches
Sunny SF-RB424006Recumbent with flip-able side lever$369.99Magnetic, 16 levels, belt driveSeat forward and back; inseam 27.2 to 35.8 inches
BikeWeight limitFootprint (L x W x H, inches)Noise as the page words itWarranty as listed
Schwinn IC4330 lb54.6 x 30.7 x 51.8"Incredibly smooth, quiet ride"Frame 10 years, mechanical parts 3, electronics 3, labor 1
Sunny SF-B1805SMART300 lb50.8 x 23.4 x 47.6"nearly silent", "virtually silent"3-year structural frame, 180 days other parts
Sole R92300 lb56 x 29 x 60 (order not labelled)not statedLifetime frame, 2 years electronics, 2 years parts, 1 year labor
Schwinn 230300 lb64 x 27.7 x 44not statedFrame 10 years, mechanical parts 2, electronics 1, labor 90 days
XTERRA FB180250 lbSet-up 31.7 x 18.1 x 42.7; folded 18 x 18 x 51"quiet", "silent belt drive"1-year frame, 90 days parts
Marcy NS-652250 lbAssembled 32 x 18.25 x 42.25; folded size not statednot stated2-year limited warranty
Sunny SF-RB424006300 lb51.8 x 25.6 x 46.1"ultra-quiet", "whisper-quiet"3-year structural frame, 180 days other parts

How these seven were chosen

The set covers four roles: upright or spin (Schwinn IC4, Sunny SF-B1805SMART), recumbent (Sole R92, Schwinn 230), folding (XTERRA FB180, Marcy NS-652) and an easy-entry recumbent (Sunny SF-RB424006).

The leads came from web-search result summaries on 2026-11-02 for home, folding and senior-oriented bike queries. They mostly surfaced undated or month-labelled roundup pages, none of which was opened, so no outlet or publish date is named and no figure here comes from an outlet. The Schwinn 230 was found on Schwinn's own collection page, and the Sunny SF-RB424006 was chosen because its page words an easy on-and-off feature. Two models that roundups cite could not be used: Nautilus's R618 has no live maker page, and the XTERRA FB150 page returns no product, so the FB180 stands in. That is a weaker basis than a named outlet and is stated so you can weigh it.

A Sole LCR recumbent was also read in full ($1,999.99 on the product page; Sole's own blog posts showed other figures, so the price is mixed). It is not one of the seven.

Notes on each bike

Schwinn IC4. Schwinn's page shows $899.00 and also $999.00 as the regular price. It is an upright indoor cycle with 100 magnetic levels, a 330 lb limit and a 113.6 lb assembled weight. The page says "zero subscriptions required" while its JRNY app has a 2-month free trial and then $11.99 a month or $99 a year, and connected apps need their own subscriptions. Flywheel weight is not on the page. Wrong for: a rider who wants a recumbent seat, or a very small room.

Sunny SF-B1805SMART. Sunny's page shows $699.99. Two details conflict: resistance is described as "micro-adjustable" in the spec table and as 16 levels in the FAQ, and the flywheel is 44 lb in the body but 40 lb in the browser tab title. The page says the SunnyFit app is free and the bike works without it. Wrong for: a buyer who needs the resistance count or flywheel figure confirmed first.

Sole R92. Sole's page shows $1,299.99 with a 20-lb flywheel, 20 ECB levels changed from the handlebar, a 300 lb limit and no monthly subscription. It states no noise figure. Wrong for: a tight budget, since it is the highest-priced of the seven.

Schwinn 230. Schwinn's page shows $599.00, calls it "our most affordable recumbent bike", and lists stationary handlebars "for easy entry and exit". It lists 13 programs and a 64-inch length, the longest footprint of the set. Wrong for: a small space.

XTERRA FB180. XTERRA's page shows $249.99 and $179.99 and a second line tying $179.99 to a code; it is unclear whether $179.99 needs one. Resistance is "8 levels of magnetic resistance" in the description and "Outer Brake Resistance" in the spec table. It folds to 18 x 18 x 51 inches, has a 3.1 lb flywheel and a 250 lb limit, and states a user height of 4'10" to 5'10". Wrong for: taller riders or anyone over 250 lb.

Marcy NS-652. Marcy's page shows $169.99 and showed the bike as unavailable on 2026-11-02. It says it folds but gives no folded size. Marcy's refund policy page says buyer's-remorse returns carry a 15% restocking fee and the customer pays shipping both ways. Wrong for: a buyer who wants to order today, or who needs a flywheel weight, machine weight or noise statement; none is stated.

Sunny SF-RB424006. Sunny's page shows $369.99 and a "flip-able side lever for easy on/off". It lists a 300 lb limit, magnetic belt-drive resistance with 16 levels and a 63.8 lb weight. Wrong for: a buyer who needs a stated stability rating or flywheel weight; the page gives neither.

Where the pages disagree or leave things out

  • Sunny SF-B1805SMART: resistance and flywheel described two ways.
  • XTERRA FB180: price tied to a code, and magnetic versus outer brake.
  • Marcy NS-652: shown as unavailable, folded size and weights not stated.
  • Sole LCR: product page and Sole's blog posts show different prices.
  • Noise: the makers use adjectives; none gives a decibel figure.

Which guide next

FAQ

What is the difference between upright, recumbent and folding bikes?

Upright and indoor cycling bikes have you seated over the pedals. Recumbent bikes have a reclined seat with a backrest. Folding bikes collapse; of the seven here only the XTERRA FB180 and Marcy NS-652 are listed as folding.

Do these bikes need a subscription?

Schwinn's IC4 page says zero subscriptions are required, with an optional JRNY app at $11.99 a month after a 2-month free trial. Sole's pages say no monthly subscription. Sunny's pages name a free app. Schwinn's 230 page says connected apps need a separate subscription.

How loud are exercise bikes?

The makers do not say in numbers. They use words such as "quiet", "whisper-quiet" and "virtually silent". The Sole R92, Schwinn 230 and Marcy NS-652 pages state nothing about noise.

What weight limits do the bikes list?

The Schwinn IC4 lists 330 lb, four bikes list 300 lb, and the XTERRA FB180 and Marcy NS-652 list 250 lb.

Should I ask a clinician before starting?

If you have pain, an injury, a heart condition, balance concerns or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting an exercise program. This page covers equipment facts, not medical advice.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published. All prices and specifications read from the makers' pages on this date.

Sources