Best Folding Exercise Bikes

Of the seven bikes read for this site, only two are listed as folding: the XTERRA FB180 at 18 x 18 x 51 inches folded, and the Marcy NS-652, whose page gives no folded size. Both are compared here from the makers' pages, read on 2026-11-02. MudderElla did not test or measure either.

What the pages say about folding

This guide sits under our wider comparison, best exercise bike for home, and covers the two bikes whose pages describe a folding frame. The other five bikes in that comparison (Schwinn IC4, Sunny SF-B1805SMART, Sole R92, Schwinn 230 and Sunny SF-RB424006) have no folded size on their pages. None of those pages describes a folding frame, so they are not treated as folding bikes in this guide, however compact. Their footprints are listed below for comparison.

Folding on a home exercise bike differs from folding on a treadmill. These are small upright bikes with a compact frame, and the saving is mostly floor area and storage height, not a flat slab. The pages show trade-offs: both list lower weight limits than the other five bikes, and the XTERRA page states a 3.1 lb flywheel.

The two folding bikes compared (read 2026-11-02)

XTERRA FB180Marcy NS-652
Price shown$179.99 (also shows $249.99; a second line ties $179.99 to a code, so it is unclear whether it needs one)$169.99
Availability on the read dateNot flaggedThe maker page showed the Marcy as unavailable on 2026-11-02
TypeFolding compact upright, "X-frame"Foldable upright
Resistance8 levels; described as "magnetic" in the description and "Outer Brake Resistance" in the spec table8 preset levels with a knob; magnetic or friction not stated
Flywheel3.1 lbNot stated
Seat and fitUp/down seat adjustment; user height 4'10" to 5'10"Seat height knob; inseam 28 to 33 inches
Weight limit250 lb250 lb
Set-up footprint (L x W x H, inches)31.7 x 18.1 x 42.732 x 18.25 x 42.25
Folded size18 x 18 x 51 inchesThe page says it folds; no folded size found
Machine weightNot statedNot stated
ConsoleLCD without backlight: time, speed, distance, calories, pulse; 2 AAA batteries; "Free XF Connect App Membership"LCD: time, speed, distance, calories, odometer, scan mode; no app or membership mentioned
Noise as the page words it"quiet", "silent belt drive"Not stated
Warranty1-year frame, 90 days parts2-year limited warranty from delivery; no component split
Returns"30 Day Money Back Guarantee"; policy page not readReturns within 30 days of delivery if approved; a 15% restocking fee on buyer's-remorse returns; customer pays shipping both ways

Notes on each bike

XTERRA FB180. XTERRA's page is the only one of the two that prints a folded size, 18 x 18 x 51 inches, with a set-up footprint of 31.7 x 18.1 inches, so folding takes the length from 31.7 to 18 inches and the height rises from 42.7 to 51 inches. The page states a 3.1 lb flywheel (6.18 inch diameter), a rider height range of 4'10" to 5'10", and a 250 lb limit. Two details conflict: the description says magnetic resistance, but the spec table says "Outer Brake Resistance". The price has two readings: $249.99 and $179.99. The warranty is the shortest of any bike in the hub at 1 year on the frame and 90 days on parts. Wrong for: riders taller than 5'10" or heavier than 250 lb, or anyone who wants a long warranty.

Marcy NS-652. Marcy's page shows $169.99 as both regular and current price, and on 2026-11-02 it showed the bike as unavailable, so it could not be bought from the maker that day. It lists 8 preset resistance levels, an inseam range of 28 to 33 inches, a 250 lb limit and an assembled size of 32 x 18.25 x 42.25 inches. It says it folds but gives no dimensions, so this guide cannot say what the folded footprint is. It also gives no flywheel weight, machine weight or noise statement. The 2-year limited warranty is the longer of the two. Marcy's refund policy page, which was read in full, requires calling support first for an approval number. Wrong for: a buyer who needs a folded size to plan storage, or who wants to order today.

How the pair differ

The XTERRA is the only one that tells you the folded size, and it states a taller-rider height range. The Marcy has the longer warranty, and its fit is stated as an inseam of 28 to 33 inches rather than a rider height. Both list the same 250 lb limit and 8 resistance levels. On price, the Marcy page shows $169.99 and the XTERRA $179.99 on the read date; $10 apart, with the XTERRA's price tied to a code that may or may not be required.

The other five bikes are not folders, but their pages give the footprint for comparison:

BikeFootprint (L x W x H, inches)Weight limit
Sunny SF-B1805SMART50.8 x 23.4 x 47.6300 lb
Sunny SF-RB42400651.8 x 25.6 x 46.1300 lb
Schwinn IC454.6 x 30.7 x 51.8330 lb
Sole R9256 x 29 x 60 (order not labelled)300 lb
Schwinn 23064 x 27.7 x 44300 lb

The two folding bikes' set-up footprints, 31.7 and 32 inches long, are roughly 19 to 32 inches shorter than those. The trade is the limits: 250 lb, and a narrower rider range stated on each page.

Measure before you buy

  1. Measure the storage spot, then compare with the XTERRA's 18 x 18 x 51 inch folded figure; ask Marcy for its folded size in writing.
  2. Check the rider: the XTERRA lists 4'10" to 5'10" and the Marcy an inseam of 28 to 33 inches.
  3. Read each return policy. Marcy's states a 15% restocking fee on buyer's-remorse returns and that you pay shipping both ways; XTERRA's policy page was not read.
  4. Confirm the XTERRA price and any code with XTERRA before ordering.

If a treadmill is the alternative, best folding treadmills compares folded sizes there. For riders who want easier entry and a seat back, best exercise bike for seniors compares recumbents. For other machine types, best cardio machines for home; for a goal-based view with sourced health figures, best cardio machine for weight loss; and for a rower comparison, rowing machine vs exercise bike.

FAQ

Which exercise bike folds smallest?

Of the pages read on 2026-11-02, the XTERRA FB180 is the only one that prints a folded size: 18 x 18 x 51 inches. Marcy's page says its NS-652 folds but prints no folded dimensions.

Is the Marcy NS-652 available?

The maker page showed the Marcy as unavailable on 2026-11-02. Availability changes, so check Marcy's page before planning around it.

Do folding bikes have lower weight limits?

On these pages, yes: both list 250 lb, against 300 to 330 lb on the other five bikes read for this site.

How loud are folding bikes?

XTERRA's page uses "quiet" and "silent belt drive". Marcy's page states nothing about noise. No page gives a decibel figure.

Should I ask a clinician before starting?

If you have pain, an injury, a heart condition, balance concerns or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting an exercise program. This page covers equipment facts, not medical advice.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published. Prices, sizes and terms read from the makers' pages on this date.

Sources