Best Folding Treadmills
Six of the seven treadmills here print a folded size; the NordicTrack prints none. The Sole F63 folds to 42 x 34 x 71 inches, the WalkingPad Z1 to 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 inches. Each figure is from the maker's page as read on 2026-11-02. MudderElla did not test or measure any machine, so check each size against your own space.
Folding means two different things
Across the models in our best treadmill for home comparison, makers use the word "folding" for two quite different designs, and the folded size is what separates them.
- Upright-fold models. The deck lifts and the machine stands on its end. The makers call the NordicTrack Commercial 1750, Sole F80, Sole F63 and Horizon 7.0 AT all folding. Their folded footprint is smaller than their running footprint, but they stand tall, from 66 to 71 inches on the pages that give a height.
- Flat-fold treadpads. The WalkingPad Z1, Sunny Nimble and Sunny Pegasus fold to a low slab a few inches high that can slide under a bed or lean against a wall.
The sensible comparison is the folded footprint and height, plus the weight you will have to move. A number on a page is what the maker prints; a stored machine also needs clearance for lifting, so allow extra room.
Folded sizes compared (read 2026-11-02)
| Treadmill | Folded size (L x W x H, inches) | Unfolded size (L x W x H, inches) | Machine weight | Deck (inches) | Motor | Price shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WalkingPad Z1 | 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 | 56.1 x 22 x 4.1 | 51 lb | 47.6 x 15.7 | 2.25 HP | $299 (also shows $329) |
| Sole F63 | 42 x 34 x 71 | 75 x 34 x 52 | 187 (unit not printed) | 20 x 60 | 3.0 HP | $1,199.99 |
| Horizon 7.0 AT | 44 x 35 x 68 | 76 x 35 x 67 | 277 lb | 20 x 60 | HP not stated | $1,099.00 |
| Sole F80 | 48 x 36 x 66 | 77 x 36 x 59 | 223 lb | 20 x 60 | 3.25 HP | $1,599.99 |
| Sunny Nimble Smart Compact Treadpad | 56.8 x 26.7 x 7.1 | 53.5 x 25 x 45.3 | 66.1 lb | 42.5 x 14.2 | 1.5 peak HP | $449.99 |
| Sunny Pegasus Smart Treadpad | 64.4 x 32 x 5.9 | 60 x 32 x 44.5 | 90.4 lb | 47.8 x 20.1 | 2.5 peak HP | $599.99 (also shows $699.99) |
| NordicTrack Commercial 1750 | not stated | 77.3 x 37 x 59.5 | in-box 311.5 lb only | 22 x 60 | 4.25 CHP | $1,999.99 (list $2,499.99) |
Four flags sit behind that table.
- The Sole F63 page prints its weight as "187" and the gross as "203" with no unit; pounds is inferred from the F80 page beside it, which prints "lbs".
- The Sunny Pegasus page prints a folded length (64.4 inches) longer than its unfolded length (60 inches). The page does not say why, so confirm with Sunny.
- The Sunny Nimble's folded length (56.8 inches) is also longer than the 53.5-inch "product dimensions" on its page, which are listed with the handlebar up.
- NordicTrack's page says the machine "folds up and rolls out of the way" but gives only box dimensions (84.1 x 35.0 x 14.8 inches) and an in-box weight, neither of which is a folded size.
Notes by model
WalkingPad Z1. The smallest folded footprint in the set and the lightest, at 51 lb net. The deck is 47.6 x 15.7 inches, speed is 1 to 4 mph, and the limit is 242 lb. The page states no incline. WalkingPad's warranty is 1 year with an optional extension. Wrong for: running or incline work.
Sole F63. Of the three upright-fold full-length models it has the smallest folded floor footprint, 42 x 34 inches, but the greatest folded height, 71 inches. It has a 20 x 60 inch deck, 0.5 to 12 mph and a 325 lb limit. Sole lists a lifetime frame and motor, 2 years on deck, electronics and wear items, and 1 year labor. Wrong for: a space with a low ceiling or a hanging light.
Horizon 7.0 AT. Folds to 44 x 35 x 68 inches and weighs 277 lb, the heaviest machine with a stated weight. The page prints its regular price as both $2,100.00 and $1,099.00, so $1,099.00 is the only price used here. It gives no horsepower. Wrong for: a buyer who wants to move the machine alone, or who needs a horsepower figure.
Sole F80. The largest folded footprint of the upright group at 48 x 36 inches, 66 inches tall, with a 350 lb limit and a 10.1 inch touchscreen. Sole's page says no monthly subscription. Incline is worded as 0-15% in one place and as 15 levels in another. Wrong for: a very tight corner.
Sunny Nimble Smart Compact Treadpad. A 42.5 x 14.2 inch deck, 0.5 to 3.7 mph walking or up to 6.0 mph running with the handlebar extended, and fixed 0.75-degree incline. It lists a 245 lb maximum and a 99 lb minimum user weight. The warranty is a 3-year structural frame and 180 days on other parts. Wrong for: a longer-striding user, or anyone under 99 lb.
Sunny Pegasus Smart Treadpad. A 47.8 x 20.1 inch surface, 0.6 to 7.5 mph and a 265 lb limit. No incline is listed. The 3-year frame and 180-day parts warranty match the Nimble's. Wrong for: someone who needs a verified folded length before ordering.
NordicTrack Commercial 1750. NordicTrack's page calls the design a SpaceSaver, but states no folded dimensions. Because the page leaves the figure out, this guide cannot rank it on folded size. It shows a 22 x 60 inch belt, a 400 lb limit and a paid iFIT Pro subscription requirement for full content, at $39 a month after the first month. Wrong for: anyone choosing mainly on folded size, until NordicTrack prints one.
Measure before you buy
- Measure the storage spot's length, width and height, and subtract room to lift or tilt the deck.
- Check the doorway and stairs against the unit's width and its machine weight; the shipping weights on some pages are higher than the machine weights shown here.
- Check the folded height against any ceiling fixtures for the upright-fold models.
- Ask for the return terms before you buy: each page read shows a 30-day window or guarantee, but the full policy pages were not read for this guide, and NordicTrack's JSON data lists a $250 return shipping fee.
If the treadmill is mostly for walking, best treadmill for walking compares the slimmer models on speed and noise. If floor space is the larger problem, best cardio machines for home compares treadmills with other equipment, rowing machine vs treadmill sets out how the two differ on space and noise, and best rowing machine for small spaces covers rowers that store compactly. For weight goals, best cardio machine for weight loss cites named health sources.
FAQ
Which treadmill has the smallest folded size?
On the pages read on 2026-11-02, the WalkingPad Z1 at 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 inches. Among the full-length models, the Sole F63 has the smallest folded floor footprint at 42 x 34 inches, but it stands 71 inches high.
Can a folding treadmill be stored under a bed?
The flat-fold treadpads are only a few inches tall when folded: 5.4 inches for the WalkingPad Z1, 7.1 for the Sunny Nimble and 5.9 for the Sunny Pegasus. Whether one fits depends on your bed clearance, so measure it. The upright-fold models stand 66 to 71 inches tall.
Does folding change the warranty?
The pages read do not say. Sole lists lifetime frame and motor warranties, Horizon lifetime frame and motor, NordicTrack a lifetime motor and 10-year frame, and Sunny a 3-year structural frame. None of the pages read ties the warranty to folding.
Are the folded sizes confirmed?
They are what each maker prints, not measurements taken by this site. Two pages show oddities, the Sunny Pegasus and Sunny Nimble folded lengths, and NordicTrack prints none. Confirm with the maker before ordering.
Should I ask a clinician before using a treadmill?
If you have pain, an injury, a heart condition, balance concerns or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting a program. This page covers equipment facts only.