Best Rowing Machine for Small Spaces
Rowers are long, so a small space calls for measuring before buying. On pages read 2026-11-02, the Hydrow Wave is 80 x 19 in, the Hydrow Origin and Arc are 86 x 25 in, and the Concept2 RowErg is 96 x 24 in, with a stated storage size of 25 x 33 x 54 in. Ergatta says only that its Luxe "folds and stores".
Floor space, drawn to scale
Each rectangle is the maker’s stated assembled length and width, in inches, drawn at one scale. Ergatta is left out because the pages read do not state its length and width. The Bowflex Revolution is a strength home gym, shown here for comparison. In-use footprints and clearance around a machine are larger.
MudderElla has not tested any rower, so this page lists what makers state and flags what they leave out. It narrows the wider best rowing machines for home comparison to one question: will it fit.
Measure three things
- Length in use. Every rower is used at full length, so a closet will not hold it during a workout. Concept2 states a space of 8 ft x 2 ft assembled, and 9 ft x 4 ft with clearance around it.
- Stored size. Some pages give one and some do not. Where none is stated, it is shown as not stated, not estimated.
- Weight. You may need to tip, roll or carry the machine. Water rowers are heavier when filled.
Footprint table (read 2026-11-02)
| Machine | Length x width (in use) | Weight | Stored size, as stated | Price as shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrow Wave | 80 x 19 in | 102 lb | Not on pages read; optional upright storage | $1,995 |
| Hydrow Origin | 86 x 25 in | 145 lb | Not on pages read; Upright Storage Kit $80 | $1,895 on Hydrow's Wave page; $2,195 MSRP |
| Hydrow Arc | 86 x 25 in | 147 lb | Not on pages read; Upright Storage Kit $80 | $2,295 |
| Concept2 RowErg | 96 x 24 in | 57 lb | 25 x 33 x 54 in (standard legs) | $990 |
| Ergatta Luxe | Not stated | 106.5 lb with water | "Folds and stores"; no figure | $2,199 |
| WaterRower Original | 82 x 22.25 in | 63.5 lb dry, 100.5 lb filled | 17.25 x 22.25 x 81.5 in | From $1,199 |
| Merach NovaRow R7 | about 73.7 x 18.4 in (converted from mm) | about 57 lb (converted) | Upright; no figure | $399.99 |
| Merach Q1S | about 64.6 x 18.7 in (converted from mm) | about 46 lb (converted) | Upright; page conflicts on "folded" | $249.99 |
Merach lists millimetres only, so those inch and pound figures are conversions. The Merach Q1S page prints a "Folded Dimensions" line next to "Folding Mechanism: None", so it is treated as upright storage.
Shortest in use: the Merach models and the Hydrow Wave
By stated length in use, the shortest on the page are the Merach Q1S at about 64.6 in and the R7 at about 73.7 in, then the Hydrow Wave at 80 in. The Wave is also the narrowest of the Hydrow rowers at 19 in. Hydrow lists the Wave's floor-to-screen height at 43 in, against 47 in for the Origin and 48 in for the Arc. Hydrow adds a $190 Vertical Anchor "For Wave" and an $80 Upright Storage Kit "For Origin & Arc".
The cost is not only the price. Hydrow's membership is $50 a month, which Hydrow says should not be considered optional, and the Wave is $3,795 over three years on the site's data. Without membership it runs in a Just Row mode with limited functionality. The Merach models are priced at hundreds of dollars and no subscription is stated, but their pages state no coached content beyond app connections.
Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.
Wrong for: a buyer who wants a one-time purchase, or a person whose room cannot take a heavy machine: at 102 lb the Wave is the lightest Hydrow but not light.
Smallest when stored: WaterRower and Concept2
WaterRower says its Original stores upright and "takes up no more floor space than a dining chair", at 17.25 x 22.25 x 81.5 in. That stored height suits rooms with tall ceilings only. The Original is 82 x 22.25 in in use, from $1,199.
Concept2's RowErg separates into two parts with no tools. It is 96 x 24 in assembled, the longest here, and 25 x 33 x 54 in stored with standard legs, or 27 x 47 x 54 in with tall legs. It costs $990 with no membership named on the page read. BoxRox (2025-09-17) says it is over 8 ft long. See the water rower guide for the WaterRower and Ergatta in more detail.
Wrong for: a studio where a 96 in rower cannot be laid out even once; for that, a shorter machine is worth the price.
Ergatta: "folds and stores", with no size
Ergatta's page says the Luxe "folds and stores with no additional equipment". The page read gives no length, width or stored size, so you cannot check the footprint against a floor plan from the page alone. Ergatta lists 106.5 lb with water, a 21 in touchscreen and a "30 day risk-free trial", which gives you a written way to find out whether it fits. It is $2,199 as shown, with $2,499 also on the page.
Wrong for: a buyer who must measure before ordering.
When a rower is the wrong answer for the room
If floor space is the limit, a rower may not fit at all. The Bowflex Revolution is a strength home gym with a rowing conversion, not a dedicated rower. Bowflex's page lists 97 x 37.5 x 72 in and 336.2 lb, which is a larger footprint than any rower above. See the Bowflex Revolution review, and for compact strength equipment, the compact home gym guide.
For rowers that fold or tip up, the foldable rower guide separates the two kinds of storage. The magnetic rower guide covers the shorter Merach and Sunny models, which list 74.6 to 79.3 in for the Sunny pair.
FAQ
What is the smallest rowing machine?
By stated length in use on this page, the Merach Q1S at about 64.6 in (converted from millimetres). Its page conflicts on whether it folds, so check Merach's page before ordering.
How much floor space does a rower need?
Concept2 states 8 ft x 2 ft for the assembled RowErg and 9 ft x 4 ft with clearance. Other makers did not state a clearance figure on the pages read.
Do I need a tall ceiling to store a rower upright?
For WaterRower, yes: 81.5 in tall on end. Hydrow's pages read give no stored height.
Can I roll a rower out of the way?
The pages read did not describe wheels or rolling for most models, so none is claimed here.