Best Compact Home Gym
A compact home gym is judged by the floor it needs, so footprint comes first. Read on 2026-11-02, the machines here run from a Speediance Gym Monster 2 that folds to 14.56 in long to a Marcy at 68 x 42 in, and the TRX Home2 trainer states no size at all.
Footprint first
MudderElla did not test any machine, so every size is the maker's own figure. The wider best home gym comparison covers price, resistance and warranty. This page ranks nothing; it puts the stated sizes side by side so you can hold them against a tape measure.
Two rules apply to every number below. Use the in-use or unfolded size when a page gives one, because that is the space you need while training. And check height as well as floor area, because several frames stand between 72 and 84 in tall and no maker page read here states a minimum ceiling.
Sizes as the makers state them
Read on 2026-11-02 from each maker's page.
| Machine | Price shown | Assembled or unfolded (L x W x H, in) | Smaller or in-use size as stated | Resistance type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speediance Gym Monster 2 | $2,771; $3,849 also shown | 48.03 x 27.16 x 72.83 (about 9.04 sq ft per Speediance) | Folded 14.56 x 27.16 x 72.83 (about 2.69 sq ft) | Digital motors, cables |
| REP Arcadia | $2,199.99 | Depth 35.8, front width 55.3, rear width 24, height 80.8 | 78 in tall with the multi-grip bar inverted | Cables, dual weight stacks |
| Bowflex Xtreme 2 SE | Listed $1,499, shown $899 | 53 x 49 x 83.25 | In use 76 x 78 | Power Rods |
| Marcy MWM-988 and MWM-990 | $749.99 each | 68 x 42 x 78 | None stated | 150 lb weight stack |
| Bowflex Revolution | $2,199; $2,999 also shown | 97 x 37.5 x 72 | In use 112 x 62; stowed 56 x 37.5 x 82 | SpiraFlex plates |
| TRX Home2 | $239.95 | Not stated | Not stated | Bodyweight straps |
The TRX page describes the trainer as "compact and portable" and says it anchors to a door, tree or pole, but gives no dimensions, no weight and no maximum resistance. That is a gap on the page, not a small number.
Reading the table
Smallest when put away. Speediance's page gives the smallest folded size in this set, and it is small: 14.56 in long and about 2.69 sq ft by Speediance's figure. The page says the machine is designed to fit through a doorway and needs no assembly, drilling or wall mounting. Its resistance wording conflicts: a maximum of 220 lb on one line, 110 lb per arm and 8 lb precision on others. It is wrong for a reader who needs the running cost, which the page does not state.
Narrowest at the back. REP's page gives a rear width of 24 in against a front width of 55.3 in and a depth of 35.8 in. REP's category page describes the Arcadia as suitable for small gym spaces and low ceilings, and the unit is 80.8 in tall with no minimum ceiling stated. Its usable resistance is 85 lb per side as sold and 110 lb per side with the $324.99 stack upgrade. It is wrong for a reader who needs a stated exercise count or user weight limit, because the page gives neither.
Rods in a smaller frame. Bowflex's page gives the Xtreme 2 SE as 53 x 49 x 83.25 in, but also says the length can grow to 76 in and the width to 78 in in use, and gives a workout area of 112 x 150 in. Its assembled length is shorter than the Marcy machines' 68 in, but its width of 49 in is wider than Marcy's 42 in, and its in-use width of 78 in is wider still. Bowflex lists 70+ exercises and a 7-year machine warranty.
Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.
Fixed stack, largest footprint of the cable machines. Marcy's pages give 68 x 42 x 78 in and 280.5 lb for both models, and neither states a smaller size. The MWM-990 page says over 30 exercises and the MWM-988 page gives no count, with a fly conflict on its own page. They carry the smallest prices among the gyms here, at $749.99 each, and they are wrong for a tight room.
Not compact in use. The Bowflex Revolution is the largest machine in this set. Bowflex's page gives 97 x 37.5 in assembled, 112 x 62 in in use and 56 x 37.5 x 82 in stowed, and a workout area of 148 x 134 in, though the owner's manual says 120 x 84 in. The Bowflex Revolution review covers it, and it is wrong for a small room.
The one machine that states no size
TRX's page shows $239.95 and lists a door anchor, a suspension anchor, a mesh carry bag and a 2-year warranty. It describes bodyweight resistance changed by body angle. The app is optional at $9.99 a month after a 30-day trial. With no footprint, no weight and no ceiling note on the page, the only space guidance is to find a door, tree or pole. If you choose it, check what you will anchor to and how much floor you need to lean back from the anchor point; the page does not say.
Cross-checks before you buy
- Compare the in-use size, not the assembled one, with your room.
- Check height against your ceiling; the Xtreme 2 SE is 83.25 in tall and the Arcadia 80.8 in.
- Ask whether the machine will be put away. Speediance and Bowflex give folded or stowed sizes; the others do not.
- Add the delivery path: Speediance says it fits through a doorway, and the Marcy pages say the machine ships in multiple boxes.
- For machines of other kinds, see the all-in-one cable and stack comparison and Revolution vs Xtreme 2 SE.
If the room is also meant for cardio, the small-space rowing machine guide compares rowers by length and folded size, and which cardio machine fits your home compares types.
FAQ
What is the smallest footprint of these machines?
On the makers' pages, Speediance's folded size of 14.56 x 27.16 in is the smallest stated. TRX gives no size, so it cannot be ranked.
Does a compact machine need a high ceiling?
No page read here states a minimum ceiling. REP describes the Arcadia as suitable for low ceilings and gives 80.8 in as its height. Bowflex gives 83.25 in for the Xtreme 2 SE and 72 in for the Revolution in use. Measure your own ceiling against the height.
Is the in-use size bigger than the assembled size?
For Bowflex, yes. The Xtreme 2 SE goes from 53 x 49 in to 76 x 78 in, and the Revolution from 97 x 37.5 in to 112 x 62 in.
Do compact machines carry less resistance?
Not necessarily. The stated maximums here range from a 150 lb stack on Marcy to 220 lb on Speediance and the Revolution, but makers measure differently, and the REP and Speediance pages each print two figures.