Best All-in-One Home Gym

An all-in-one home gym puts several strength stations on one frame, using cables on weight stacks, motors, rods or plates. Four cable or stack machines are compared here from maker pages read on 2026-11-02: prices run from $749.99 to $2,771, and each page states resistance and size differently.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

What counts as all-in-one here

For this guide an all-in-one machine is a single frame with more than one station, such as a press arm, a lat bar and a low pulley, so one purchase covers pushing, pulling and leg work. It sits inside the wider best home gym comparison on MudderElla, which also covers a compact bodyweight trainer and the Bowflex range. This page narrows to the machines that use cables, stacks or motors, plus a note on Bowflex's rod and plate systems.

Four criteria matter for this question. First, the resistance type and the maximum the maker states. Second, the footprint, because a frame with two stacks is wide. Third, how the page counts exercises. Fourth, the price with any upgrade that changes what you get. MudderElla did not test any machine, so everything below is the maker's own page, dated.

The four cable and stack machines

Read on 2026-11-02, from the maker's page in each case.

MachinePrice shownResistance as statedFootprint as stated (in)Exercise count as statedWarranty
Marcy MWM-988$749.99150 lb vinyl-coated weight stack, cables and pulleys68 L x 42 W x 78 HNot stated2-year limited
Marcy MWM-990$749.99150 lb stack, pulleys and cables68 L x 42 W x 78 HOver 302-year limited
REP Arcadia$2,199.99Dual stacks at 2:1; 85 lb usable per side, 110 lb per side with upgradeDepth 35.8, front width 55.3, rear width 24, height 80.832 cable positionsFrame lifetime; pulleys, bearings, cables 1 year
Speediance Gym Monster 2$2,771; $3,849 also shownDigital motors, "Maximum 220 lbs"; 110 lb per arm48.03 x 27.16 x 72.83 unfolded90+ app plans, 1000+ app workouts2-year

The two groups of machines are priced very differently. The Marcy pages show $749.99 each, which is $1,450 less than the Arcadia at $2,199.99 and $2,021.01 less than the Speediance at $2,771. Those gaps come with different things. The Marcy machines are fixed weight stacks. The Arcadia has two adjustable-height stacks. The Speediance replaces weights with motors and a screen.

Weight stack: Marcy MWM-988 and MWM-990

Marcy's pages say both machines use a 150 lb weight stack with a selector pin, weigh 280.5 lb, take a user up to 300 lb, and need assembly in multiple boxes that can arrive on different days. The two pages are nearly identical, with two exceptions that matter to a buyer.

First, the MWM-990 page says it features over 30 strength exercises and lists a chest arm fly in its spec table. The MWM-988 page gives no count. Second, the MWM-988 page contradicts itself: the spec table says "Chest Arm Fly: No" while the description says the arms can be adjusted for chest flys. If a chest fly matters to you, the MWM-990 page is the one that states it plainly, and the MWM-988's answer cannot be settled from its own page.

Marcy's refund policy page allows return within 30 days of delivery for approved items, with a 15% restocking fee and shipping both ways for a change of mind, and the machine must have been bought directly from Marcy. These machines are wrong for a reader who wants resistance above 150 lb or a stated exercise count on the MWM-988, and the footprint is the largest of the four in length.

Cable trainer: REP Arcadia

REP's page lists the Arcadia at $2,199.99, with a stack upgrade at $324.99 extra. It states a 2:1 ratio, meaning, in REP's words, that moving 100 lb feels like 50 lb. The page gives two maximum figures. One is 170 lb per stack, 340 lb in total at that ratio. The other, in the spec table, is 85 lb usable per side, or 110 lb with the upgrade. These are not the same measurement, and the usable one is closer to the load at the handle. The machine is narrower front to back than the Marcy at 35.8 in deep, but 55.3 in wide at the front. REP's page lists 32 height options for the cable trolley and does not state an exercise count, a unit weight or a user weight limit.

Its warranty page lists a lifetime warranty on the frame with conditions, one year on pop-pins, pulleys, bearings and cables, and says the lifetime cover applies to the original purchaser only. REP's refund policy allows 30 days with a 15% restocking fee for used items. The Arcadia is wrong for a reader who needs a stated maximum above 110 lb per side or a stated weight limit for the user.

Digital cable: Speediance Gym Monster 2

Speediance's page shows $2,771 with $3,849 also shown. It describes dual direct-drive motors, four resistance modes (Chain, Standard, Eccentric, Constant), a 21.5 in touch screen, and "no assembly, drilling, or wall mounting". Its footprint is 48.03 x 27.16 in unfolded and 14.56 x 27.16 in folded, and it weighs 171.96 lb.

The page's resistance figures conflict. The headline says a maximum of 220 lb in 1 lb steps, while the spec table gives a single-arm maximum of 110 lb and a digital weight precision of 8 lb. The page also lists no user weight limit and does not say whether the screen or app needs a paid plan, though it implies a paid Wellness+ tier without a price. The warranty is 2 years, with paid extensions, and Speediance lists 30-day returns and a 30-day home trial without the conditions. It is wrong for a reader who wants a stated running cost, because the page does not give one.

Bowflex's rod and plate machines

Bowflex's machines are a different kind of all-in-one, using elastic resistance rather than stacks or motors. Bowflex's page says the Revolution gives 220 lb with SpiraFlex plates, upgradable to 300 lb, in a 97 x 37.5 x 72 in frame that grows to 112 x 62 in in use. It lists 100 exercises with 400+ variations, shown at $2,199 with $2,999 also shown. The page also lists "Converts to a rowing machine", which the Bowflex Revolution review examines. The Xtreme 2 SE, at 53 x 49 x 83.25 in, uses Power Rods and is covered in the Revolution vs Xtreme 2 SE comparison.

If you want a stack or cable feel, Bowflex is a different resistance type. If you want the largest stated exercise count, Bowflex's pages state the highest numbers here, 100 exercises with 400+ variations on the Revolution, and those counts are the maker's own.

Picking by room and budget

  • Tight room: a smaller footprint matters more than the stack. See the compact home gym comparison, where the Speediance's folded 14.56 in length and the Arcadia's 24 in rear width are set against the others.
  • Smallest outlay: the Marcy pages show the smallest price of the four, with a fixed 150 lb stack.
  • Adjustable cable heights: the Arcadia page states 32 positions.
  • Motorized resistance: the Speediance page describes it, with the conflicts above.
  • Cardio as well: an all-in-one gym covers strength. For cardio, start with which cardio machine fits your home.

FAQ

Is a cable machine better than a stack machine?

Neither page says so, and this site does not rank them. A stack machine like the Marcy uses a fixed 150 lb stack on pulleys. A cable trainer like the Arcadia uses two stacks with adjustable handle heights. The choice depends on whether you want a fixed set of stations or adjustable cable positions.

Why do the resistance figures differ so much between machines?

Makers measure differently. REP's 2:1 ratio means the usable load is half the raw stack. Speediance gives a total and a per-arm figure. Marcy gives the stack weight. Compare the usable figure per side or per arm where the page gives one.

Do all-in-one gyms need assembly?

Marcy's pages say assembly is required and that boxes can arrive on different days. REP offers professional assembly billed after service, and gives no self-assembly time of its own. Speediance's page says no assembly or drilling is needed. Bowflex's FAQ recommends two people for assembly.

What size room should I check against?

Check the in-use or widest figure. REP's front width is 55.3 in, the Marcy pages give 68 x 42 in, and Bowflex gives larger in-use sizes than its assembled sizes.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published, with maker pages read on that date.

Sources