Best Magnetic Rowing Machines for Home Use

Magnetic rowing machines use magnets rather than air or water to create resistance, and their makers market them as quiet and compact. On pages read 2026-11-02, four of them cost between $249.99 and $399.99, while Hydrow, which describes electromagnetic drag, lists its Wave at $1,995 plus a $50 monthly membership.

This page sits under the wider best rowing machines for home guide, and MudderElla did not test any of the machines below. Every number comes from a maker's page, read on the date shown, and every noise statement is attributed, because no decibel figure for any of these machines could be confirmed.

What to check on a magnetic rower

These are the criteria from the site's rowing framework that matter most for this type:

  • Price and any membership. Most low-priced magnetic rowers pair with a free app; Hydrow's membership is $50 a month.
  • Noise, as stated. Makers say "quiet" in every case, so the useful question is who said it and whether it is a maker or a reviewer.
  • Size and storage. Several of these rowers store upright, which is not the same as folding.
  • User limits. Weight capacity ranges from 300 lb to about 399 lb across the four.
  • Warranty and trial. Stated differently by each maker, and some pages show only a badge.

Comparison table (read 2026-11-02)

MachinePrice as shownLevelsLength x widthWeightUser limit
Merach NovaRow R7$399.99 (page also shows $599.99)16about 73.7 x 18.4 in (converted from mm)about 57 lb (converted)about 399 lb (converted)
Sunny SF-RW523021$399.991679.3 x 19.7 in67.6 lb300 lb
Sunny Corezy SF-RW523043$299.991674.6 x 20.7 in59.8 lb300 lb
Merach Q1S$249.99 (page also shows $359.99)16about 64.6 x 18.7 in (converted from mm)about 46 lb (converted)about 348 lb (converted)

Merach lists its sizes only in millimetres (1872 x 468 mm for the R7 and 1642 x 476 mm for the Q1S); the inch figures are conversions.

Merach NovaRow R7

Merach's page shows $399.99 now and $599.99 struck through. It describes electromagnetic resistance with 16 levels, adjustable by a manual lever, smart adjustment or a handle button, with a measured 3 kg flywheel. The monitor shows time, split per 500 m, distance, calories, stroke rate, watts and strokes, and the rower works with the Merach app and Kinomap. No subscription requirement or price is stated.

Storage is listed as "Upright Storage", and the same spec table says "Folding Mechanism: None". The page gives no separate stored dimensions. Merach states a "30-Day Home Trial money-back guarantee" with the customer paying shipping if the return is consumer-caused, and a "2-year warranty" tile, though the full terms page was not read. Merach did not give a noise figure in the maker copy read; a customer review on the page calls the noise "totally manageable", which is a review, not a maker claim.

Wrong for: anyone who wants coached video classes or a built-in screen; the page lists an LED display and a tablet holder.

Sunny SF-RW523021

Sunny's page shows $399.99, with an option to add a "Full Motion Upgrade" at $200. It lists magnetic resistance with 16 levels, belt drive, a dual slide rail, a device holder and a free SunnyFit app. The page says "whisper-quiet dual rail system" and "nearly noiseless workout", both Sunny's own words. The warranty is 3 years on the structural frame and 180 days on other parts, and a "30-Day Money Back Guarantee" appears as a badge; the policy page was not read.

It is listed as not folding, with a "compact design" and upright storage, and no stored size is given. Wrong for: rowers over 300 lb or with an inseam beyond 42.7 in, the figures the page lists.

Sunny Corezy SF-RW523043

At $299.99 the Corezy is $100 below the SF-RW523021 and lists the same 16 levels and belt drive. Sunny's page credits "a stainless steel rail cover that reduces noise" for the quiet. It is 74.6 x 20.7 in, 59.8 lb, with a 300 lb limit and a 43.7 in inseam limit, the same 3-year frame and 180-day parts warranty, and a SunnyFit app connection. Sunny's page does not state a subscription price. The page shows upgrade options at higher prices, including a dual rail; confirm what the quoted price includes. Wrong for: anyone who needs more than 300 lb of capacity.

Merach Q1S

The Q1S is the lowest-priced rower on this page at $249.99, with $359.99 shown struck through. Merach lists electromagnetic resistance, 16 levels, a measured 35 kg peak resistance (against 55 kg on the R7), a rotary knob display and an iPad stand. The page's own figures conflict on folding: it lists "Folded Dimensions: 476 x 643 x 1642 mm" and also "Folding Mechanism: None" with "Upright Storage". Treat it as an upright-storing rower. The page text contains "First, it's quiet" and a review that says "very quiet", but the page read does not make clear whether the first line is maker copy or a review. No warranty is stated on the Q1S page itself; Merach's paid protection plans are listed at $24.99, $34.99 and $39.99. A 30-day home trial applies under Merach's refund policy.

Wrong for: a buyer who needs a written warranty before ordering, since that page does not state one.

Hydrow and electromagnetic drag

Hydrow's Wave page describes a "patented electromagnetic drag mechanism" and calls it "whisper-quiet", both Hydrow's own words. InsideHook (2025-06-26) says the reviewer found the Hydrow Pro very quiet and reports testing it for several weeks. That is a different model from the Wave.

The cost structure differs from the four above. Hydrow lists the Wave at $1,995 and membership at $50 a month for the household. Hydrow says membership "should not be considered an optional part of purchasing"; without it the rower runs in Just Row mode with very limited functionality, with no workout videos or music. On the figures in the site's data, the Wave over three years is $3,795. The Wave measures 80 x 19 in and weighs 102 lb, per Hydrow's FAQ.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

Wrong for: anyone who wants to pay once and skip a subscription, or whose goal is the lowest total cost. Read the Hydrow review for the full facts table.

How these differ from air and water rowers

Magnetic resistance is one of three types. The air, magnetic and water comparison covers feel and upkeep, and the water rower guide covers the other quiet-leaning type. Concept2's air-resistance RowErg is $990; BoxRox (2025-09-17) says it is louder than magnetic machines.

If space is the deciding factor, see the foldable rowers page, which separates folding from upright storage, and the small-space footprint guide. If price leads, the budget rowers guide puts these four beside the premium machines.

FAQ

Are magnetic rowing machines quiet?

Their makers say so, in words like "whisper-quiet" and "nearly noiseless". No decibel figure for any machine here could be confirmed, and the Merach R7 page's only noise comment is a customer review.

Do magnetic rowers need a subscription?

The Merach and Sunny pages read state no subscription requirement, and Sunny's app is described as free. Hydrow's membership is $50 a month and Hydrow says it is not optional.

Do magnetic rowers fold?

Not on these pages. The Merach R7 and Sunny machines list upright storage, and the R7 says "Folding Mechanism: None". See the foldable rowers page for the one rower whose page describes folding.

Why do two Merach pages list different warranties?

The R7 page shows a "2-year warranty" tile, while the Q1S page read states none. That may be a gap in the page rather than a difference in cover, so ask Merach before ordering.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published, with prices and specifications read from each maker's page on that date.

Sources