Best Water Rowing Machines for Home
A water rowing machine uses a tank of water as resistance, so the pull feels like moving a boat. This guide compares three that makers still sell: the Ergatta Luxe at $2,199, the WaterRower Original from $1,199 and the Sunny Obsidian Surge 500 at $699.99, all read from their own pages on 2026-11-02.
MudderElla read each maker's page on one dated day and kept outside opinions separate and attributed. If you are still choosing between rower types, start with the wider best rowing machines for home guide, or the air, magnetic and water comparison for the type question alone. This page covers water only.
What "best" means for a water rower
For water rowers the site uses four of its five stated criteria, and each one is checked against a maker's page rather than a reviewer's impression:
- Cost over three years, including any membership the machine needs to do what its page advertises.
- What works without a membership, as the maker words it.
- Noise, as stated, with outlets that disagree shown side by side.
- Footprint and storage, in the maker's own dimensions.
Warranty and return window, the fifth criterion, appear in the table where a maker's page states them.
How a water rower works
Water rowers put a paddle inside a sealed tank. WaterRower's own page calls its version "Patented WaterFlywheel technology", and Ergatta describes its resistance as "authentic, naturally-adjusting". Both are maker descriptions, and neither page gives a physics explanation beyond that. What the pages do state is practical: the tank holds water, so the machine is heavier when filled, and WaterRower says its Original can be stored upright without removing the water.
Comparison table (read 2026-11-02)
| Machine | Price as shown | Membership | Length x width | Weight | User limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ergatta Luxe | $2,199 (page also shows $2,499) | Not required, per Ergatta | Not stated on the pages read | 106.5 lb with water | 500 lb; 6 ft 8 in or 40 in inseam |
| WaterRower Original | From $1,199 | None stated as required | 82 x 22.25 in | 63.5 lb dry, 100.5 lb filled | 700 lb; 37 in inseam |
| Sunny Obsidian Surge 500 | $699.99 (list price unclear) | Free SunnyFit app | 78.9 x 22.3 in | 91.9 lb | 300 lb; 38 in inseam |
Ergatta Luxe: game-style workouts on water
Ergatta's page now calls the rower "The Ergatta Luxe", though the web address still says "the-ergatta-rower". The page shows $2,199 with a $300 reduction applied and a struck-through $2,499. It lists a 21-inch touchscreen, a cherry wood frame and a weight of 106.5 lb with water, and says the rower "folds and stores with no additional equipment".
Membership is the question most buyers ask. Ergatta's FAQ answers, "No, an Ergatta membership is not required to use the rower." Without one, the rower still runs Just Row mode with real-time metrics, Strava and Apple Health connections and music. The paid plans on Ergatta's pages are 1 year at $390 and 3 years at $1,044, and the implied list monthly price is about $39 (derived by dividing the plan's listed $1,404 by 36). Over three years that is $2,199 with no membership, $3,243 with the 3-year plan, or $3,603 on monthly billing at $39.
Its warranty is worded two ways. The product-page headline says "5 year warranty", while Ergatta's warranty page lists the touchscreen at 1 year, component parts at 3 years and the wooden frame at 5 years. The same page names WaterRower as the manufacturer. Ergatta offers a "30 day risk-free trial" on its product page.
Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.
Wrong for: anyone who wants an instructor talking through each workout. BarBend (page last updated 2024-11-17) describes the Ergatta as suiting rowers who want game-style competition without instructor coaching, and lists no virtually coached rows. It is also wrong for a tight budget, since the WaterRower and Sunny machines below cost less.
WaterRower Original: wood, no screen subscription
WaterRower's page shows the Original "From $1,199" with an S4 Bluetooth monitor that displays stroke rate, intensity and distance. It states 82 x 22.25 x 20 in in use and 17.25 x 22.25 x 81.5 in stored upright, and says the stored machine takes "no more floor space than a dining chair". It also lists a 700 lb user limit, a 5-year frame warranty and a 3-year parts warranty.
The page names no membership and no subscription price, so on the evidence read the machine is a one-time purchase, though the page does not say that outright. Returns are the weak point on paper: WaterRower's returns page states that cancellations and returns are approved "at WATERROWER's discretion", that the customer pays original and return shipping, and that a 15% restocking fee may apply. No trial window is stated. The price is for the base configuration; finish, rail length and monitor options may change it, and those were not read.
Wrong for: buyers who want a fixed, written trial period, or video classes on a built-in screen.
Sunny Obsidian Surge 500: the lower-priced option
Sunny's page shows $699.99 for the Obsidian Surge 500 water rower. The page also shows a selector for Standard or Premium, and the add-to-cart area carries a label for one variant that is unclear, so confirm availability on Sunny's page before relying on that price. A search snippet from Healthline quoted a different figure; that was not confirmed, so it is not printed here.
Sunny lists 16 blades, an "R2 Fitness Meter" with 15 racing programs, a free SunnyFit app over Bluetooth, 78.9 x 22.3 x 32.67 in, 91.9 lb and a 300 lb user limit. Warranty is 3 years on the structural frame and 180 days on other parts. A "30-Day Money Back Guarantee" appears as a footer badge; the full policy page was not read. Sunny's page says you can store the rower upright, even with water in it, but gives no stored dimensions.
Wrong for: heavier or taller rowers, since the page lists 300 lb and a 38 in inseam, against 500 lb and 700 lb on the other two.
Noise: the outlets disagree
Noise is where water rowers are argued over most, and the sources do not agree. Treat the figures below as opinions with dates, not measurements.
- WaterRower says its Original "operates quietly with only the sound of moving water". That is the maker's wording.
- Sunny says on its Obsidian page, "You'll love how quiet this machine is!", also a maker statement.
- BarBend (last updated 2024-11-17) says the Ergatta's water tank is loud and that the whoosh may bother a household.
- Athletech News (2025-11-12) calls the Ergatta's water resistance "smooth and fairly quiet".
BarBend and Athletech News reviewed the same machine and reached opposite readings. Ergatta's own pages read on 2026-11-02 state no noise figure. No decibel number could be confirmed for any water rower here, so none appears. If sound matters, such as a shared wall or a sleeping child nearby, the practical step is to read the return terms before ordering.
Who should pick which
- Want guided structure and competition on water, with membership optional: the Ergatta Luxe fits that description, at the highest price here.
- Want a wood water rower with no stated subscription and the smallest stored footprint on this page: WaterRower Original.
- Want to pay least for a water rower: the Sunny Obsidian Surge 500, with the availability question above.
New to rowing? The first-rower guide sets out what to check before ordering. If price is the main filter, see budget rowing machines. Hydrow describes its drag as electromagnetic rather than water, as covered in the Hydrow review, and the Ergatta review goes deeper on membership and warranty. For a quieter-by-design type, compare magnetic rowers.
FAQ
Is a water rowing machine quieter than an air rower?
The pages read do not settle it. WaterRower and Sunny describe their water rowers as quiet, while BarBend reports that the Ergatta's tank is loud. For air, BoxRox (2025-09-17) says the Concept2 is louder than magnetic machines. No decibel figures were confirmed.
Do I need a membership for a water rower?
Not for the three machines here. Ergatta says membership is not required, and the WaterRower and Sunny pages state no requirement. Ergatta's Just Row mode keeps metrics, music and app connections without a plan.
Do water rowers need water changes?
The pages read did not state a maintenance schedule, so none is given here. Check each maker's manual before buying.
Which water rower stores smallest?
Only WaterRower states stored dimensions on the pages read: 17.25 x 22.25 x 81.5 in. Ergatta says only that the Luxe folds and stores; Sunny says it stores upright with no figures.