Best Rowing Machine for Beginners

A first rower should be judged on total cost, how you want to be coached, noise, space and the return window, not on features you may never use. On pages read 2026-11-02, the Concept2 RowErg is $990 with no membership named, Ergatta's Luxe is $2,199 with membership optional, and Hydrow's Wave is $1,995 plus $50 a month.

MudderElla has not tested any rower, so this page is a checklist built from maker pages with outlet views attributed. For the full field of machines, see best rowing machines for home; this guide narrows it to a first purchase.

Five checks for a first rower

  1. Three-year cost, not sticker price. A rower with a required membership costs more than its price tag. Hydrow says membership "should not be considered an optional part of purchasing."
  2. How you want to be coached. Some people want an instructor on a screen, some want a game, some want just a monitor and a free app.
  3. Noise. The sources disagree, so check the attributed statements below and the return terms.
  4. Space. Length, width and weight decide whether it fits and whether you can move it.
  5. A written way out. If you have never rowed, a stated trial or return window matters more than it does for an experienced buyer.

Three kinds of first rower (read 2026-11-02)

MachinePrice as shownMembershipCoaching styleThree-year cost
Concept2 RowErg$990None named on the page read; free ErgData appMonitor and apps$990
Ergatta Luxe$2,199 (page also shows $2,499)Optional, per ErgattaGame-style workouts$2,199 without membership; $3,243 with the 3-year plan
Hydrow Wave$1,995$50 a month; Hydrow says not optionalCoached on-water video$3,795

The three-year figures are price plus 36 months of membership where one applies, from the site's data; shipping, tax and accessories are not included.

Concept2 RowErg: simplest and least expensive of the three

Concept2's page lists $990 with standard legs and $1,155 with tall legs. It is 96 x 24 in and 57 lb, comes with the PM5 monitor and a free ErgData app, and separates into two parts without tools for storage at 25 x 33 x 54 in. Concept2 states a user limit of 500 lb as tested by Concept2 and 300 lb under the European standard EN 20957-7, and the page names no membership. The page read did not state a warranty or return window, so neither is printed here; check Concept2's page before ordering.

BoxRox (2025-09-17) calls it worth the investment for beginners through elite rowers, and says the reviewer tested the machine. The same review says it is over 8 ft long and louder than magnetic machines. That is the trade: the machine is simple and has no ongoing fee, but it is long and, per that review, not quiet.

Wrong for: someone who wants a class to follow on screen, or who lives where noise travels.

Hydrow: coaching on a screen, with a paid membership

Hydrow's FAQ lists membership at $50 a month "for the whole household". Without it the rower runs in Just Row mode with very limited functionality: you can adjust drag, see on-screen metrics and use Hydrow 101 tutorials, but there are no workout videos, music or saved stats. Over three years the Wave costs $3,795 on Hydrow's figures.

Hydrow offers a "Free 30-day home trial" per its Wave page, plus a separate return policy: for trial-ineligible direct purchases, return within 30 days of delivery, with a $250 return shipping fee deducted, and membership refunds only within 30 days of purchase. The terms of the trial itself sit in a separate article that was not read, so the exact conditions are unconfirmed.

InsideHook (2025-06-26) says the reviewer, who tested the Hydrow Pro for several weeks, found the instructors engaging and the machine very quiet, and called the membership a large long-term cost.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

Wrong for: anyone who wants to pay once, or who already knows they will tire of a subscription.

Ergatta: a game format, with optional membership

Ergatta's Luxe uses water resistance and game-style workouts. Per Ergatta's FAQ, membership is not required, and without it you keep Just Row mode, metrics, music and connections to apps such as Strava and Apple Health. Ergatta's plans are 1 year at $390 and 3 years at $1,044. It offers a "30 day risk-free trial", with a refund on the rower and the membership "if not for you", and states self-assembly takes 30 to 45 minutes.

Athletech News (2025-11-12) says a calibration workout sets a baseline, and calls the self-guided format mostly seamless, but notes that game-mode tutorials repeat and cannot always be skipped and that the onboarding path for new users is unclear. BarBend (last updated 2024-11-17) says the Ergatta suits rowers who want game-style competition without instructor coaching.

On noise the two outlets split: BarBend says the tank is loud, Athletech News calls the resistance "smooth and fairly quiet". Ergatta's pages state no figure. The water rower guide lays out the full disagreement, and the Ergatta review covers membership and warranty in detail.

Wrong for: a beginner who wants a person explaining technique; the format is competitive and self-guided.

Where lower-priced rowers fit

The machines above are not the least expensive. Merach and Sunny list magnetic rowers from $249.99 to $399.99 with free apps, 30-day money-back wording and, for Sunny, a 3-year frame warranty. Their pages state no coaching content beyond app connections. The budget rower guide compares them, and the Concept2 stays a plain, low-fee option.

Form comes before gear

A first rower does not need to master technique before buying, but it helps to know what the stroke looks like. The how to use a rowing machine guide walks the four parts of the stroke using Concept2's own description, and rowing machine workouts covers what to do on the first sessions. If the five checks above still leave you undecided, the how to choose a rowing machine page asks five questions and points you to a guide.

If you have back pain, an injury, are pregnant or have a heart condition, speak to a clinician before starting. Harvard Health says rowing machines "aren't advisable for people prone to back pain."

FAQ

Do I need a membership to use a rowing machine?

Not for all of them. Concept2's page names none and offers a free app, and Ergatta says membership is not required. Hydrow says its membership should not be considered optional and describes limited functionality without it.

Which rower has a trial period?

Hydrow states a "Free 30-day home trial" and Ergatta a "30 day risk-free trial". Merach states a 30-day home trial. Concept2's page read did not state a return window, and WaterRower's returns page states none, only that returns are at its discretion.

Is a more expensive rower easier to learn on?

The pages read do not say so. Price buys a screen, classes or a game format, not an easier stroke.

Should a beginner worry about noise?

If you share walls, yes, and the sources disagree. Check the attributed statements above and keep the return window in mind.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published, with prices and specifications read from each maker's page on that date.

Sources