Best Treadmill for Walking

For walking, a treadmill's slowest belt speed, deck length, incline and price matter more than a 12 mph top speed. This guide compares the WalkingPad Z1, Sunny Nimble and Sunny Pegasus treadpads with four full-size models, using each maker's page as read on 2026-11-02. MudderElla did not test any of them.

What matters for walking

This guide sits under the main comparison, best treadmill for home, and narrows it to one use. Four points decide most walking choices, and each can be read off a maker's page.

  1. Slowest and fastest speed. A walking pace sits at the low end of the range. A machine that starts at 0.5 mph gives finer control at a gentle pace than one that starts at 1 mph; a machine that tops out at 4 mph cannot be used for running at all.
  2. Deck length and width. A deck is the belt's running surface. A short or narrow deck leaves less room if your stride is long or you drift side to side.
  3. Incline. Several walking machines have none. If you want a hill setting, the page has to list one.
  4. Noise and price. Makers describe noise only in adjectives on the pages read, so noise appears here as "as the page words it". Prices are what the page showed on 2026-11-02.

Walking machines compared (read 2026-11-02)

TreadmillPrice shownSpeed rangeDeck (inches)InclineWeight limitNoise as the page words it
WalkingPad Z1$299 (also shows $329)1-4 mph47.6 x 15.7not stated242 lb"minimal noise"
Sunny Nimble Smart Compact Treadpad$449.990.5-3.7 mph walking; 0.5-6.0 mph running42.5 x 14.2fixed 0.75 degrees245 lb max, 99 lb min"whisper quiet" (FAQ)
Sunny Pegasus Smart Treadpad$599.99 (also shows $699.99)0.6-7.5 mph47.8 x 20.1not stated265 lbnot stated
Sole F63$1,199.990.5-12 mph20 x 6015% (also worded as 15 levels)325 lb"quieter operation"
Horizon 7.0 AT$1,099.000.5-12 mph20 x 600-15%325 lbnot stated
Sole F80$1,599.990.5-12 mph20 x 600-15% (also worded as 15 levels)350 lb"runs quieter"
NordicTrack Commercial 1750$1,999.99 (list $2,499.99)0-12 mph22 x 6012% to -3% decline400 lbnot stated

Two flags. The Horizon page prints its regular price as both $2,100.00 and $1,099.00, so only the $1,099.00 shown price is used. And the Sole pages word incline as a percentage in one place and as "levels" in another.

The three walking-first machines

WalkingPad Z1. WalkingPad's page shows $299 and, separately, $329. It states a "2.25HP brushless motor" without saying peak or continuous, a walking area of 47.6 x 15.7 inches, 1 to 4 mph and a 242 lb limit. It weighs 51 lb net and folds to 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 inches. A remote is in the box and the app is free; the page mentions no membership. It states no incline. The page says "1-year warranty with optional extension available" and "30-Day Returns".

Wrong for: anyone who wants to walk slower than 1 mph, anyone who wants incline, or anyone over 242 lb.

Sunny Nimble Smart Compact Treadpad. Sunny's page shows $449.99. Speed is split into modes: walking 0.5 to 3.7 mph and running 0.5 to 6.0 mph, and the page says running needs the handlebar unfolded and extended. The surface is 42.5 x 14.2 inches, the smallest deck here, and incline is "0.75 degrees (Fixed)". The limit is 245 lb maximum and 99 lb minimum, which is unusual: a minimum user weight is a stated limit, so check it. The unit weighs 66.1 lb and folds to 56.8 x 26.7 x 7.1 inches. The SunnyFit app is free and a remote option is listed. Warranty is a 3-year structural frame and 180 days on other parts.

Wrong for: a taller walker who needs a longer or wider belt, or someone under 99 lb.

Sunny Pegasus Smart Treadpad. Sunny's page shows $599.99 and, separately, $699.99. It states a 2.5 peak HP motor, a 47.8 x 20.1 inch surface, 0.6 to 7.5 mph and a 265 lb limit. It lists no incline and no noise statement. Weight is 90.4 lb. The folded size prints as 64.4 x 32 x 5.9 inches, longer than the 60-inch unfolded length on the same page, so confirm it with Sunny. The 3-year structural frame warranty and 180 days on other parts match the Nimble's.

Wrong for: a buyer who wants incline, or a noise statement before buying.

Full-size treadmills for walking

A full-size treadmill is a bigger purchase for walking, but each of the four pages read states a slowest speed of 0.5 mph (the NordicTrack page gives a 0-12 mph range) and a 60-inch deck. That is about 12 inches longer than the longest treadpad deck above.

  • Sole F63 at $1,199.99. A white LED display with no touchscreen and a free app with "no monthly subscription". It folds to 42 x 34 x 71 inches. Sole words incline both ways: a 15% figure and "15 levels".
  • Horizon 7.0 AT at $1,099.00. A 7.25 inch LCD, eight built-in programs, a 325 lb limit, and a folded size of 44 x 35 x 68 inches. The page gives no horsepower and no noise statement.
  • Sole F80 at $1,599.99. A 10.1 inch touchscreen and a 350 lb limit, with a 3.25 HP motor described as quiet.
  • NordicTrack Commercial 1750 at $1,999.99. The page says a paid iFIT Pro subscription is required to access full content, at $39 a month after the first month. It gives no folded size.

Wrong for: a small apartment, or a buyer who wants a machine light enough to move alone. Of the full-size units, the F63 (187, unit not printed), F80 (223 lb) and Horizon (277 lb) state a weight; the NordicTrack page gives only an in-box 311.5 lb. The treadpads list 51 to 90.4 lb.

Choosing between a treadpad and a full-size model

If you walk a few days a week and need to store the machine, the folded sizes decide it, and the guide to best folding treadmills lays those out in full. If you want incline, a longer deck or a higher weight limit, only the full-size models listed incline above 0.75 degrees on the pages read.

Treadmills are one option among several. If joints or space are a concern, best cardio machines for home compares machine types, and best exercise bike for seniors covers seat and entry points on bikes. For weight goals, best cardio machine for weight loss uses sourced figures from named health bodies. A rower is a different motion; rowing machine vs treadmill sets out the trade-offs.

FAQ

Can I walk on a treadmill that is also meant for running?

The pages show it is possible, in the sense that the four full-size models start at 0.5 mph. The Sunny Nimble states separate walking and running ranges. Whether a particular machine feels right at a slow pace is not something a spec sheet shows.

Is a treadpad quieter than a full-size treadmill?

The pages cannot answer that. WalkingPad says its motor runs "with minimal noise" and Sunny's Nimble FAQ says "whisper quiet"; Sole says its F63 is engineered for quieter operation. None gives a decibel figure, and NordicTrack, Horizon and Sunny's Pegasus page state nothing about noise.

Do any of these need a paid membership?

NordicTrack's page says a paid iFIT Pro subscription is required for full content and features. The Sole pages say no monthly subscription, and the WalkingPad and Sunny pages name free apps. Horizon's page says its line avoids subscriptions that lock you in.

Which has the largest weight limit for walking?

The NordicTrack 1750 lists 400 lb and the Sole F80 350 lb. The treadpads list 242 to 265 lb, and the Nimble also lists a 99 lb minimum.

Should I check with a clinician first?

If you have pain, an injury, a heart condition, balance concerns or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting a walking program. This page covers equipment facts, not medical advice.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published. All figures read from the makers' pages on this date.

Sources