Ergatta vs Concept2

Ergatta Luxe is shown at $2,199 and Concept2's RowErg is $990, a gap of $1,209 before any membership. Ergatta says its membership is not required, so its no-membership total stays $2,199, while the RowErg totals $990 with no membership found. Ergatta uses water resistance; Concept2 uses a flywheel. Prices were read on 2026-11-02.

MudderElla sets the two side by side here because they sit at opposite ends of the price range covered by our hub, best rowing machines for home, while both skip a required subscription. Concept2 is named in plain text and is not a partner of this site. The question is mostly whether a game-style screen and a wood-framed water rower are worth $1,209 more to you.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

The decisive table

Three-year cost is the machine price plus any membership over 36 months, with no shipping, tax or accessories.

Ergatta LuxeConcept2 RowErg
PriceShown at $2,199; the page also shows $2,499$990 with standard legs; $1,155 with tall legs
MembershipNot required, per Ergatta's FAQ; plans 1 year $390, 3 years $1,044, 5 years about $1,620None found on the page read; free ErgData app
Three-year cost$2,199 without membership; $3,243 with the 3-year plan; $3,603 on a monthly list of about $39$990
ResistanceWater, which Ergatta calls naturally adjustingFlywheel; outlets describe it as air resistance
Screen or monitor21 in touchscreenPM5 monitor included
Weight106.5 lb with water57 lb with standard legs; 68 lb with tall legs
Size assembledLength and width not stated on the pages read96 x 24 in
StorageErgatta says it "folds and stores with no additional equipment"Separates into two parts with no tools; 25 x 33 x 54 in with standard legs
User limitsUp to 6 ft 8 in or 40 in inseam, and 500 lb500 lb as tested by Concept2; 300 lb per EN 20957-7
WarrantyScreen 1 year; parts 3 years; wood frame 5 yearsNot stated on the page read
Return window30-day risk-free trialNot stated on the page read

The $39 monthly figure is derived: Ergatta's membership page shows the 3-year plan at $1,044 against a previous $1,404, and $1,404 divided by 36 months is $39. The 5-year figure is arithmetic too, at $27 a month for 60 months. The gap between the RowErg and the Ergatta Luxe is $1,209 on price alone, and Ergatta's membership adds $0, $1,044 or $1,404 over three years on top, depending on the route.

Water and flywheel: what the makers and outlets say

Ergatta's product page describes "authentic, naturally-adjusting" water resistance. Concept2's page says only that its "flywheel design puts you in control" of intensity; outlets such as Breaking Muscle describe the RowErg's resistance as air. The makers' pages do not describe how either one feels. For how the types differ in general, see air vs magnetic vs water rowing machines and the water rowing machines guide.

On noise the makers give nothing measurable: neither page read states a decibel figure or a noise claim. Outlets disagree. For Ergatta, BarBend (page last updated 2024-11-17) says the water tank is loud, while Athletech News (page dated 2025-11-12) calls the water resistance "smooth and fairly quiet." For Concept2, Breaking Muscle (page last updated 2023-11-14) calls it loud and says it gets louder as you row harder, and BoxRox (page dated 2025-09-17) says it is louder than magnetic machines. All four were read only as summaries, and there is no agreed number, so noise is a row where this page picks no side.

Membership: the row that shrinks the gap

Ergatta's FAQ says "No, an Ergatta membership is not required to use the rower." Without one you keep Just Row mode, real-time metrics, connections to apps such as Strava and Apple Health, and music. That puts Ergatta's no-membership total at $2,199, still $1,209 above the RowErg. Choosing the 3-year plan brings it to $3,243, which is $2,253 above the RowErg.

Concept2's page read shows no membership at all. It lists a free ErgData app and says "over 40 other apps" work with the monitor. So Concept2 is the lower-priced route whichever way you count, and Ergatta's extra cost buys the screen, the wood frame and its workouts.

Pick by situation

Lowest total spend. Concept2's RowErg, on the numbers: $990 against at least $2,199.

Game-style workouts on the machine itself. Ergatta. BarBend says it suits rowers who want game-style competition without instructor coaching, and Athletech News describes a calibration workout that sets a baseline. Concept2's page lists the PM5 and apps, which show numbers rather than games.

A small room or a closet. The data does not separate them. Ergatta says it folds and stores with no additional equipment, but its length and width were not on the pages read. Concept2 states 96 x 24 in assembled, 25 x 33 x 54 in in storage, and 9 ft x 4 ft of space with clearance. Ask Ergatta for its size before comparing. The small spaces guide has more footprints.

A tall or heavy rower. Ergatta states 6 ft 8 in or 40 in inseam and 500 lb. Concept2 states 500 lb as tested by Concept2 and 300 lb per the European standard, and says an inseam of 38 in or more may need an extra-long monorail, with tall legs at $1,155. Neither separates clearly.

You want a warranty in writing. Ergatta's warranty page lists screen 1 year, parts 3 years and frame 5 years, and its manufacturer is WaterRower. Concept2's warranty and return window were not on the page read, so this page prints none; check Concept2 directly. Ergatta's own headline says "5 year warranty" while the page lists the screen at 1 year.

See the Ergatta review and the Concept2 RowErg review for each in full. For the premium coached rower against each, read Hydrow vs Ergatta and Hydrow vs Concept2.

FAQ

Is Ergatta worth $1,209 more than a Concept2?

That depends on whether you want the touchscreen workouts and a wood-framed water rower. On numbers alone, the RowErg is $990 and Ergatta without membership is $2,199, so the gap is $1,209.

Do I need a membership for Ergatta?

No, according to Ergatta's FAQ. Just Row mode, metrics, music and app connections work without one.

Which is quieter, water or air?

The makers do not say. Outlets disagree about Ergatta, and call Concept2 loud and louder with effort; none give an agreed decibel figure.

Which one stores more easily?

Ergatta says it folds and stores with no additional equipment but gives no length or width on the pages read. Concept2 separates into two parts and lists its storage size.

What does Concept2's warranty cover?

The Concept2 page read does not state a warranty or return window, so this page does not print one. Ergatta's warranty page lists the screen at 1 year, parts at 3 and the frame at 5.

Update history

  • 2026-11-02: first published, with prices and terms read from each maker's pages that day.

Sources