Bowflex Xtreme 2 SE Review 2026

The Bowflex Xtreme 2 SE is a Power Rod strength home gym, not a rower. Bowflex's pages showed it at $899 and listed it at $1,499 on 2026-11-07, with 210 lb of resistance, a 53 x 49 in frame and a 7-year machine warranty. It suits a reader who wants a smaller, lower-priced strength machine.

Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.

This review belongs to the hub guide best home gym, where strength machines are weighed on space, resistance type, exercise range, weight limits and total price. MudderElla did not test the machine. Everything below is what Bowflex states on its own pages, read as raw page text, and where a page says nothing the review says so.

What the Xtreme 2 SE is, in Bowflex's words

Bowflex's product page describes a home gym built around "Power Rod" resistance, with 210 lb of resistance out of the box and "70+ strength-building exercises". Bowflex's category page says Power Rods "offer a unique resistance experience that reduces inertia". That sentence is the maker's description of the feel, and the site cannot confirm it.

The page lists these attachments and parts:

  • A pair of foam multi-grip hand and foot grips, and a pair of standard foam hand grips.
  • A 50 in curved lat bar and a 48 in six-grip straight bar, with two straight bar straps.
  • An ab crunch harness, an adjustable and removable seat, and a leg extension system.
  • A "no-change cable pulley system" and a four-position lower pulley and squat station.
  • Rods in five groups: one pair of 5 lb, two pairs of 10 lb, one pair of 30 lb and one pair of 50 lb.

Bowflex's page says resistance ranges "from 5 to 105 lbs per side in 5 lb increments". It also says the machine is upgradable to 310 lb and then 410 lb with accessory purchases. Each 100 lb upgrade step is listed at $129 on Bowflex's strength collection, read on 2026-11-07, so reaching 410 lb takes two steps, $258 in upgrades before shipping.

Facts at a glance

Facts below are as the Bowflex pages word them, read on 2026-11-02 unless a row says otherwise. The figures are Bowflex's, not ours.

FactXtreme 2 SE
PriceShown at $899, listed at $1,499 (strength collection, read 2026-11-07)
ResistancePower Rods, 210 lb, upgradable to 310 lb and 410 lb
Exercises"70+" strength exercises
Assembled size (new listing)53 x 49 x 83.25 in
In useLength can increase to 76 in and width to 78 in
Workout area112 x 150 in
Machine weight174 lb
Maximum user weight300 lb
Suggested user height4 ft 6 in to 6 ft 6 in
Warranty7 years on the machine, 5 years on the Power Rods
Paid protection plans3-year at $129 and 5-year at $189
Return30 days, full product refund minus shipping and handling
Shipping options listedFedEx Parcel $199, White Glove $399
SubscriptionNot mentioned on the product page; the category page says Bowflex's strength machines do not need Wi-Fi, electricity or subscriptions

Two listings, one machine name

Bowflex lists the Xtreme 2 SE twice. The current listing is tagged "New", and a second one named "Xtreme 2 SE (Gen 1)" is tagged "Clearance". Both show the same prices, and both pages say 210 lb of Power Rod resistance, 70+ exercises, 174 lb and the same warranty.

The only stated difference is length: 53 in on the current listing and 63 in on the Gen 1 listing. The two pages carry different product codes, but neither explains any other difference. So this review cannot say whether the machines differ in anything else, and a buyer should check which listing is in the cart. The table above uses the current listing.

Rowing: nothing stated

The Xtreme 2 SE pages say nothing about rowing machine function. The only wording near it is a line that the straight bar "can be used for squats, presses, rows, and more", which describes an exercise, not a rowing machine. The Revolution is the Bowflex page that lists a rowing conversion, and the Bowflex Revolution review goes through that wording. A reader who wants a rower should read the rowing hub instead, not this page.

Room and setup

The assembled footprint is smaller than the Revolution's 97 x 37.5 in, but the machine is 83.25 in tall and widens to 78 in in use. Bowflex's page gives a height but no ceiling-clearance guidance, so that point is NOT STATED. A reader with a basement or low ceiling should measure first. The compact home gym guide compares machines by footprint across brands.

Bowflex's FAQ recommends two people to assemble its strength machines, and White Glove delivery with assembly is listed at $399. The Xtreme 2 SE owner's manual was not opened, so the review cannot say how long assembly takes.

Cost over three years

The Xtreme 2 SE has no membership, so its three-year cost equals its price plus whatever you add. At the $899 shown price, adding both Power Rod upgrade steps at $129 each gives $258 in upgrades, a 5-year protection plan is $189, and FedEx Parcel delivery is $199 or White Glove with assembly is $399. Bowflex's return policy page says a return outside delivery with assembly carries return shipping costs of $155 and a processing fee of up to 20%.

For a plain comparison, the Revolution is shown at $2,199, a difference of $1,300 on the shown prices and $1,500 on the listed ones. The Revolution buys plate-style resistance and a longer warranty. The Bowflex home gyms compared page sets the two side by side.

Scorecard

CriterionCellWhat the pages say
1. Total priceSTATEDPrice shown and listed; upgrades, delivery and protection plans priced separately
2. Works without a subscriptionSTATEDNot mentioned on the product page; the category page says strength machines need none
3. Resistance rangeSTATED210 lb, upgradable to 310 lb and 410 lb
4. FootprintSTATEDAssembled, in-use and workout-area sizes given
5. Warranty and returnSTATED7-year machine, 5-year rods, 30-day return with return costs on the policy page
Ceiling clearanceNOT STATEDHeight given, no clearance guidance
Rowing functionNOT STATEDNot mentioned
Difference between the two listingsMIXEDLength is stated; any other difference is not

Who it is wrong for

  • Anyone who wants a rowing line in the feature list. The Xtreme 2 SE pages state none. The Revolution page lists a rowing conversion.
  • Anyone who wants plate resistance or the longer 10-year warranty. Those are stated for the Revolution, not for this machine.
  • Anyone with low ceilings or a narrow room. It stands 83.25 in tall and widens to 78 in in use.
  • Anyone who expects a screen, classes or an app. The product page describes none.
  • Anyone over 300 lb or outside the suggested height range, by Bowflex's figures.

Versus the alternatives

Dumbbell-based training takes a different route. Our adjustable dumbbells guide compares sets that need no cable machine, and the Bowflex SelectTech dumbbells review covers Bowflex's own pair. The all-in-one home gym guide narrows the field to machines that cover the whole body, and which cardio machine fits your home is the place to start if cardio matters more than strength.

FAQ

How much is the Bowflex Xtreme 2 SE?

Bowflex's strength collection showed it at $899 and listed it at $1,499 on 2026-11-07. Upgrades, delivery and protection plans are priced separately.

How much resistance does it have?

Bowflex's page says 210 lb of Power Rod resistance, upgradable to 310 lb and 410 lb. Each 100 lb upgrade step is listed at $129.

Is the Xtreme 2 SE a rowing machine?

Bowflex's pages say nothing about rowing machine function. The only related wording says the straight bar can be used for rows, which is an exercise.

What is the warranty?

Bowflex's page says 7 years on the machine and 5 years on the Power Rods. Paid protection plans are $129 for 3 years and $189 for 5 years.

Why are there two Xtreme 2 SE pages?

Bowflex lists a current one tagged "New" and a Gen 1 one tagged "Clearance". Both show the same prices. The only stated difference is length, 53 in against 63 in.

Update history

  • 2026-11-07: first published. Bowflex's Xtreme 2 SE pages, category page and FAQ were read on 2026-11-02, and the strength collection, return policy and shipping page on 2026-11-07.

Sources