Best Elliptical for Home 2026
Six home ellipticals from Sole, Schwinn and Horizon are compared here on price, stride, resistance, weight limit, footprint and warranty. Prices run from $699.00 to $1,799.99 on the makers' pages, read on 2026-11-07. MudderElla did not test any machine, so every figure below is what a maker's page states.
The five criteria used on this page
"Best" on this page means how an elliptical measures against five points a buyer can check before paying. Nothing here is a winner claim; a machine that suits one home can be wrong for another.
- Price. The figure the maker's page showed on 2026-11-07. Where a page shows two prices, this page writes "shown at $X, listed at $Y". Makers change prices often, so each one is a dated reading.
- Stride and resistance. Stride length in inches and the number of resistance levels as the page words them, plus whether the page lists an incline.
- Drive and flywheel. Whether the page says front drive and what it says about the flywheel. Several pages state neither, and that is marked "not stated".
- Weight limit and footprint. The maximum user weight and the assembled length and width. No elliptical page read for this guide gave a folded size, so footprint is the assembled one.
- Warranty and return window. The terms by part, and the return window where the page states one. Some pages do not.
The six ellipticals at a glance (read 2026-11-07)
| Elliptical | Price | Stride | Resistance | Incline | Weight limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schwinn 411 | $699.00 | 18 in | 16 magnetic levels | none | 300 lb |
| Horizon EX-59 | shown at $799.00, listed at $999.00 | 18 in | 10 electronically adjustable | none | 300 lb |
| Sole E20 | $999.99 | 18 in | 20-level magnetic | none | 300 lb |
| Sole E25 | $1,299.99 | 20 in | 20 levels, magnetic | 20 levels, power | 350 lb |
| Schwinn 490 | shown at $1,499.00, listed at $1,699.00 | 20 in | 25 magnetic levels | -5% to 15%, motorized | 330 lb |
| Sole E35 | $1,799.99 | 20 in, three-position pedals | 1-20, magnetic | 20 levels, power | 350 lb |
| Elliptical | Assembled footprint (L x W x H, in) | Machine weight | Drive and flywheel | Warranty as listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schwinn 411 | 53.8 x 24 x 62.5 | 100 lb | not stated | frame 10 years, mechanical parts 2 years, electronics 1 year, labor 90 days |
| Horizon EX-59 | 73 x 24 x 66 | 145 lb | drive not stated; flywheel 14 lb or 14.3 lb | frame lifetime; brake, flywheel, parts and labor 1 year |
| Sole E20 | 65 x 22 x 64 | 133 | front drive; 14.3 lb | frame lifetime; brake, electronics, parts and labor 1 year |
| Sole E25 | 70 x 24 x 70 | 209 | front drive; 20 lb | frame lifetime; parts 2 years; labor 1 year |
| Schwinn 490 | 58.1 x 33.9 x 68 | 187 lb | not stated | frame 10 years, mechanical parts 2 years, electronics 1 year, labor 90 days |
| Sole E35 | 70 x 31 x 70 | 220 | front drive; 25 lb | frame lifetime; parts 2 years; labor 1 year |
The Sole weights print no unit, so "133", "209" and "220" are as written on the pages. The Sole warranty lines were read by order on the page, and each maker's compare table agrees: parts 1 year on the E20 and 2 years on the E25 and E35.
How these six were chosen
The set covers three price tiers from three makers whose product pages could be opened and read on 2026-11-07. Two smaller Sunny Health & Fitness models appear in the footprint guide instead, best compact elliptical, because their size is the reason to look at them. NordicTrack, ProForm and Nautilus pages were not attempted, so absence here says nothing about those machines. No outlet roundup was opened for this page, so no ranking from any outlet is repeated.
Notes on each elliptical
Schwinn 411. Schwinn's page says it was built for people for whom workout space is a problem, with an 18 in stride, 16 magnetic levels and 13 workout programs. Assembled it is 53.8 x 24 x 62.5 in, and the page lists a minimum ceiling height of user height plus 17 in. It lists a 300 lb limit, an LCD console and Bluetooth heart-rate tracking. The page states no drive type, flywheel or noise wording, and no return window. Wrong for: anyone who wants incline or a long stride.
Horizon EX-59. Horizon's page shows $799.00 and lists $999.00. It states an 18 in stride and 10 electronically adjustable levels, and its spec table calls the frame "SixStar Non-Folding" with folded dimensions "n/a". The flywheel is 14 lb in the spec table and 14.3 lb in the bullet text; both are printed because the page does not reconcile them. It is the longest machine in this set at 73 in. The page has a "100% Guarantee" section whose text could not be captured, so the return window can't be checked. Wrong for: a short room.
Sole E20. Sole's page shows $999.99, with standard curbside delivery listed at $49.99. It states front drive, an 18 in stride, 20 magnetic levels, no incline, and a 300 lb limit. The page offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee and says its app has no monthly subscription. Sole's words for the ride are "smooth, quiet, low-impact cardio". That is the maker's wording, not a measurement. Wrong for: a user who wants incline.
Sole E25. Sole's page shows $1,299.99. It states a 20 in stride, front drive, a 20 lb flywheel, 20 magnetic levels, 20 levels of power incline from the handlebar controls and a 350 lb limit. It ships by freight with curbside delivery; in-room delivery and assembly is a paid upgrade whose price the page does not show. Wrong for: a buyer who wants the fewest moving parts.
Schwinn 490. Schwinn's page shows $1,499.00 and lists $1,699.00. It states a 20 in stride in a "compact footprint", 25 magnetic levels and motorized incline and decline from -5% to 15%. The page says connected apps need a separate digital subscription, with JRNY starting at $11.99 a month or $99 a year after a two-month trial. Shipping is listed at $199.00 standard, $249.00 room of choice and $349.00 white glove, while a banner on the same page says free shipping through 11/14. Both are printed because the page does not reconcile them. Wrong for: a buyer who wants no subscription option attached to the console.
Sole E35. Sole's page shows $1,799.99. It adds a 10.1 in touchscreen with preloaded streaming apps, a 25 lb flywheel and three-position adjustable pedals on the 20 in stride, with a 350 lb limit. Sole says its app has no monthly subscription. It is the widest machine here at 31 in. Wrong for: a buyer who does not want a screen.
What the pages disagree about or leave out
- Folding. No folding elliptical was found. Horizon's page says "Non-Folding", and the Sole and Schwinn pages state no folded size.
- Flywheel on the Horizon EX-59: 14 lb in one place, 14.3 lb in another.
- Schwinn 490 shipping: standard shipping fees on one line, a free-shipping banner on another.
- Noise: no page gives a decibel figure. Sole uses adjectives such as "quiet"; the Schwinn 411 and 490 pages and the Horizon page make no noise claim.
- Return windows: Sole states 30 days on all three models and the Schwinn 490 page states 30 days. The Schwinn 411 page states none, and the Horizon text could not be captured.
- Offers: some pages showed shipping offers ending 11/14. They are not printed here; each price is the figure shown that day.
A word on "low impact"
The makers use the phrase. Sole's E20 page says "low-impact cardio", for example. This page repeats it only as the makers' wording. No named medical page read for this site states that an elliptical is easier on joints than another machine, so this site makes no such claim. NHS guidance on osteoarthritis, last reviewed 20 March 2023, does not mention ellipticals. If you have joint pain, an injury, a heart condition or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting.
Where to go next
- Tight floor space: best compact elliptical ranks by stated footprint.
- Treadmill or elliptical: elliptical vs treadmill sets impact, space and cost side by side.
- Seated or standing: elliptical vs exercise bike compares the two.
- What the machine works and what health sources say: elliptical machine benefits.
- A rower as the alternative: rowing machine vs elliptical.
- A stepper-style cardio machine: the Bowflex Max Trainer review. Bowflex's page describes the motion as combining "the low impact benefits of an elliptical and high intensity movements of a stepper", which is the maker's description.
- Other machine types: best cardio machines for home, best treadmill for home, best exercise bike for home, and best rowing machines for home. For a plain treadmill comparison there is also rowing machine vs treadmill.
FAQ
What stride length should a home elliptical have?
The makers do not give one rule. The pages read list 18 in on the Schwinn 411, Horizon EX-59 and Sole E20, and 20 in on the Sole E25 and E35 and the Schwinn 490. Compare the number to your own height and leg length, and use the return window where one is stated.
Do any of these fold?
No folding elliptical was found. Horizon's EX-59 page says "Non-Folding" with folded dimensions "n/a", and the Sole and Schwinn pages state no folded size. Plan floor space from the assembled footprint in the table.
Do they need a subscription?
Sole's pages say its app has no monthly subscription. The Schwinn 490 page says connected apps need a separate digital subscription, which the page lists from $11.99 a month. The Schwinn 411 page does not mention JRNY.
How loud are they?
The makers do not say in numbers. Sole's pages use "quiet" and "smooth" wording; that is marketing language. The Horizon page claims smooth, consistent motion and makes no noise statement.
How many calories does an elliptical use?
Harvard Health's table, dated March 8, 2021, lists "Elliptical Trainer: general" at 270, 324 and 378 calories in 30 minutes for 125, 155 and 185 lb people. The page defines no intensity and cites other calculators as its sources, so treat the figures as rough. The CDC page dated Dec. 20, 2023 recommends 150 minutes of moderate activity a week, or 75 vigorous, plus muscle-strengthening twice a week.
Should I see a clinician before starting?
If you have pain, an injury, a heart condition, balance concerns or have been inactive, ask a clinician before starting any exercise program. This page gives equipment facts only, not medical advice.