Bowflex vs PowerBlock Dumbbells 2026
Bowflex SelectTech uses twist dials and PowerBlock uses a magnetic selector pin, and the makers' pages give different amounts of detail. Read on 2026-11-07, Bowflex states sizes and a warranty for its 552 and 1090, while PowerBlock states pair prices by weight stage but no dimensions in the text read.
How this comparison was made
MudderElla did not test either brand, so this is a comparison of what each maker's page says, read on 2026-11-07 and attributed in the sentence. Where a page left a fact out, the table says "not stated" rather than guessing. It sits under the wider best home gym guide, and the adjustable dumbbell comparison puts both beside Ironmaster and fixed pairs.
Both sites were running a Black Friday promotion on 2026-11-07. Bowflex's ends 11/14. Prices are given as the pages showed them, and Bowflex's are written as shown and listed.
Side by side
| Fact | Bowflex SelectTech 552 | Bowflex SelectTech 1090 | PowerBlock Pro 50 | PowerBlock Elite USA 90 | PowerBlock Pro 100 EXP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Range per dumbbell | 5 to 52.5 lb | 10 to 90 lb | 5 to 50 lb | 50 to 90 lb | 5 to 40 lb, expandable to 100 lb |
| Step | 2.5 lb to 25 lb, then 5 lb | 5 lb | Not stated | 2.5 to 5 lb | 2.5 to 5 lb |
| Adjustment | Dials | Dials | Not read | Not read | Magnetic selector pin |
| Price | Shown at $399, listed at $479 (pair) | Shown at $649, listed at $799 (pair) | $549 | $469 (50 lb), $668 (70 lb), $867 (90 lb) pair | $539 (40 lb), $758 (60 lb), $977 (80 lb), $1,196 (100 lb) pair |
| Size per dumbbell | 16.9 x 8.3 x 9 in | 17.5 x 9.5 x 10 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Warranty | Parts 2 years | Parts 3 years | Not stated | Not stated | 5-year residential |
PowerBlock's Pro 50 listing says "Adjustable from 5 to 50 lbs per hand" at $549. PowerBlock's collection also lists a Pro 32 at $379 for 4 to 32 lb and a Sport 24 at $219 for 3 to 24 lb. Bowflex's lowest range on the pages read is the 552's 5 to 52.5 lb.
Disclosure: the Hydrow, Ergatta and Bowflex links on this page are affiliate links. MudderElla may earn a commission if you buy after clicking one, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what a page says. How we link.
Weight range
The ranges overlap through the middle. A Bowflex 1090 and a PowerBlock Elite USA 90 both top out at 90 lb per dumbbell. The Elite starts at 50 lb, so it does not cover light work, while the 1090 starts at 10 lb. PowerBlock's Pro 100 EXP reaches the highest stated weight of any option here, 100 lb per dumbbell, but PowerBlock's page presents it as 5 to 40 lb out of the box with 20 lb expansion kits to add later. Bowflex's 552 stops at 52.5 lb with no expansion option listed.
How weights change
PowerBlock's page says a magnetic selector pin allows quick weight changes and, on its collection page, says you can switch weights in seconds. Bowflex's explore page FAQ says dial adjustments are "nearly instant", and the product page says to switch with a quick twist of the dials. Neither maker prints a time in seconds for its own system, and this site did not time either. On the pages read, the two systems cannot be ranked on speed.
Price for a comparable range
The cleanest like-for-like on the pages read is a roughly 90 lb range. Bowflex's 1090 is shown at $649 and listed at $799 for 10 to 90 lb. PowerBlock's Elite USA 90 is $867 for the 90 lb pair, with a stage price of $469 if you buy only the 50 lb pair. The two differ in starting weight: the Elite begins at 50 lb, so the Bowflex covers a wider spread for less. At the listed price of $799, the Bowflex is still $68 lower than the PowerBlock's $867. Both subtractions use the pages' own figures.
For a lighter range, the Bowflex 552 at $399 shown covers 5 to 52.5 lb, while PowerBlock's Pro 50 at $549 covers 5 to 50 lb. The difference at the shown price is $150, and at the listed price of $479 it is $70.
The Pro 100 EXP priced at 100 lb is $1,196, against $649 shown for a 90 lb Bowflex. The Bowflex 1090 does not reach 100 lb, so the extra $547 buys 10 more lb per hand and the expansion path.
Stands, size and what was not confirmed
Bowflex's pages list two stands, a $199 stand and a $179 stand with a media rack, each sold separately, and their compatibility differs: the $199 page says it works with all SelectTech models, while the $179 page excludes the 52 and 90 and fits the 552 and 1090. Bowflex's FAQ says a stand is optional but recommended.
PowerBlock's Pro 100 EXP page shows a stand called the POWERMAX 2.0 with two prices that were cut off in the read, so this page gives no stand price for PowerBlock. PowerBlock's dimensions were not confirmed either, and the "1000 LB Weight Capacity" line on its page does not make clear whether it refers to the dumbbells or the stand. Do not assume either brand's size from the other.
Warranty and returns
Bowflex's pages state parts coverage of 2 years on the 552 and 3 years on the 1090. PowerBlock's Pro 100 EXP page says a 5-year residential warranty, not valid for commercial use. PowerBlock's warranty page says coverage applies to defects in materials or workmanship, goes to the original purchaser only and starts at purchase date, but did not list years per product in the text read.
On returns, Bowflex's policy says 30 days from delivery for a refund or credit minus freight, with return shipping costs of $155 and a processing fee of up to 20%. PowerBlock's refund policy says returns carry a 20 percent processing and restocking fee, need an RMA within 30 days of purchase, and leave you paying return shipping, with shipping and handling not refunded. PowerBlock's announcement bar says free shipping on residential orders within the contiguous 48 states. Bowflex's shipping charges sit in a modal that was not read.
Who each is wrong for
- Bowflex SelectTech: wrong for a lifter who needs more than 90 lb in one hand, and for anyone who wants the option of adding weight later, since no expansion is listed.
- PowerBlock Pro 100 EXP: wrong for a buyer who wants the least outlay for a mid-range set, since the page prices each additional stage as a larger pair.
- PowerBlock Elite USA 90: wrong for anyone who lifts below 50 lb, because its range starts there.
Verdict by situation, not by winner
If you want a stated size and a known parts warranty and a mid-range total near $649 shown, the Bowflex 1090 gives the most complete set of printed facts. If you expect to lift beyond 90 lb and want to grow into it, the PowerBlock Pro 100 EXP is the only option here with a stated 100 lb stage. This page names no winner, because the missing PowerBlock facts mean one side is documented better than the other, which is not the same as being better.
For a closer look at the Bowflex side, read the Bowflex SelectTech review. For whether the money makes sense compared with fixed pairs, see are adjustable dumbbells worth it. If floor space is the limit, the compact home gym guide lists machine footprints.
FAQ
Which has the wider weight range?
PowerBlock's Pro 100 EXP reaches 100 lb per dumbbell on its page, against 90 lb for Bowflex's 1090. Bowflex's 1090 starts at 10 lb and PowerBlock's Pro 100 EXP at 5 lb.
Which is quieter?
PowerBlock's page says its black urethane plates give a quieter workout. Bowflex's pages give no noise statement, and this site measured neither.
Which costs less?
At a 90 lb top weight, Bowflex's 1090 is shown at $649 and PowerBlock's Elite USA 90 is $867, but the two start at different weights. The table above lists every price read.
Do both need a stand?
No page says a stand is required. Bowflex calls its stand optional but recommended, and PowerBlock's stand price could not be read.